Skip to main content
“Brandeis

Donation and Collection of Archival Materials at Brandeis University

This guide is to help inform potential or active donors of materials for the University Archives at Brandeis University

University Archivist

Maggie McNeely's picture
Maggie McNeely
Contact:
Brandeis University
MS 045 at 415 South Street
Waltham, MA 02454-9110
781-736-4686
Website

University Alumni materials

The University Archives collects alumni material directly related to time spent at the University. It is our goal to create a collection of material which is of interest to alumni, current students, and researchers.

What kinds of materials are the Archives interested in collecting?

The most relevant materials are related to:

  • Student organizations
  • Student activities and events
  • Student publications (especially those which are rare)
  • Photographs (if labelled)

Materials which are collected more selectively include:

  • Syllabi and class notes
  • Student works
  • Memorabilia
  • Photographs which are not labelled

What is the procedure for donating alumni materials?

Alumni or their family members should get in contact with the University Archivist and describe the materials they own. All materials accepted require a signed deed of gift on delivery in order for the Archives to preserve and share the material with the community and with researchers.

What alumni materials do the archives currently have?

We are glad you asked! Take a look at the finding aid for the University Alumni collection. It is arranged by year and name.