COSI 107A: Introduction to Computer Security

Google Scholar is a simple place to search for full text because it allows you to search open access resources and the Brandeis library's subscriptions at the same time.

You can adjust your settings to connect Google Scholar to the Brandeis library, which will ensure that you'll get full access to Brandeis' subscriptions. Follow these steps to change your settings.

Alternatively, you can use the link above or the link on the library's Databases A-Z page. These links will automatically add Get It @ Brandeis links to Google Scholar.

1. Go to Google Scholar and click on "Settings" in the menu bar.

2. Click on "Library Links."

3. Type "Brandeis" into the search bar.

4. Select "Brandeis University - GetIt @ Brandeis!"

5. Click "Save."

Once you set it up, you'll see GetIt @ Brandeis links in Google Scholar. This is the fastest way to check all of the library's subscriptions to see if we have full text access.

If it says no full text, get it through Interlibrary Loan! (See the Get materials Brandeis doesn't have section of this page for more information). 

Some journal websites will allow you to log in using your Brandeis credentials. 

1. Look for a log in link, often in the upper right corner of the webpage. 
2. After clicking log in, look for an option to log in through your institution. If you see an option called "OpenAthens," that might also work.
3. If prompted, select or search for Brandeis University. (If Brandeis isn't listed as an option, the site probably isn't configured to work with Brandeis' authentication systems).
4. When you choose Brandeis, you should be directed to the Brandeis login page. 

Here's what the process looks like for Nature journals:

You can use Brandeis Library OneSearch to see if we have full-text access to an article or book.

1. Use the link above or go to the library website and enter the title of the article into the Brandeis Library OneSearch box. 

2. The article you're looking for will usually show up in the top few search results. It will either say full text access or no full text. Click on the title to see your options.

a. If it says full text, you will sometimes see multiple publishers/database packages that provide full text, along with the dates of coverage. Choose any of the links that cover the year of the article you're looking for. 

b. If it says no full text, click on the Request via Interlibrary Loan link. This will allow you to request the article from another library.

If you need library materials that Brandeis does not have, Interlibrary Loan (or Resource Sharing) can help!