Skip to main content

Brandeis University Special Collections

This is a guide to the Special Collections held at Brandeis, including manuscripts and rare books.

Contact Me!

Chloe Morse-Harding's picture
Chloe Morse-Harding
Contact:
Chloe Gerson, Reference and Instruction Archivist
Robert D. Farber University Archives & Special Collections, Goldfarb Library
Brandeis University
415 South St.
Waltham, MA 02453

cmorseharding@brandeis.edu
781-736-4657
Website

Judaica collection

An integral component of Special Collections, the Judaica Collection comprises more than 200,000 works housed throughout the library. The collection documents all aspects of Jewish history, religion, and culture, with a particular focus on the Bible, rabbinics, Jewish philosophy and mysticism, Hebrew and Yiddish literature, and the Holocaust.

The microfilm, microfiche, and electronic collections include a wide array of English, German, Hebrew, and Yiddish newspapers; reproductions of Hebrew manuscripts; works on Israel, Zionism, and American Jewish history; the personal papers of Abba Hillel Silver and Chaim Weizmann; rabbinical texts; important bibliographic databases; and other relevant research tools and collections.

Many rare and unique Judaica materials are located in Special Collections. Examples include incunabula, rare books, and manuscripts; artifacts; collections documenting the Leo Frank case and the Dreyfus Affair; the personal papers of Louis D. Brandeis, E.M. Broner, Helmut Hirsch, Rose Jacobs, and Stephen S. Wise; and many others.

Also see the Near Eastern and Judaic Studies guide for more information on Judaica research.

Brandeis scroll

This thank-you scroll (in the form of a Purim Megilah) was presented to Justice Louis D. Brandeis by the Jewish community of Jerusalem on July 11, 1919, in appreciation of his efforts on behalf of Zionism.

Outside resources in Judaica