Skip to main content

*Near Eastern and Judaic Studies: Judaica Reference Resources

Includes: The Ancient Near East, Bible, Judaica, New Testament, Islam, modern Middle East

Atlases

Macmillan Bible Atlas

Judaica Ref G2230 .A2 1993

Atlas of Medieval Jewish History

Judaica Ref G1034 .B413 1992

Atlas of Modern Jewish History

Judaica Ref G1030 .F6513 1990

Dictionaries

>See: Hebrew Literature: Dictionaries

See:Hebrew Bible: Dictionaries and Concordances

A Dictionary of the Targumim, the Talmud Babli and Yerushalmi -- Jastrow

Judaica Ref PJ5205 .J3

Comprehensive Aramaic Lexicon

Dictionary of Jewish Palestinian Aramaic -- Sokoloff

Judaica Ref PJ5205 .S6 2002

Dictionary of Jewish Babylonian Aramaic -- Sokoloff

Judaica Ref PJ5205 .S652 2002

Modern English-Yiddish, Yiddish-English Dictionary -- Weinreich

Judaica Ref PJ5117 .W4

Arumnemiḳ Yidish-English ṿerṭerbukh

Comprehensive Yiddish-English Dictionary (based on the lexical research of Mordkhe Schaechter)

Judaica Ref PJ5117 .C66 2016

 

 

 

See Also:Yiddish Studies

Basic Bibliographies

Oxford Handbook of Jewish Studies

Judaica Ref BM70 .O95 2002

Judaica Reference Sources -- Charles Cutter

Judaica Ref Z6366 .C87 2004

Jewish Autobiographies and Biographies -- David Zubatsky

Judaica Ref Z6374 .B5 Z78 1989<

Encyclopedias and Reference Tools

Encyclopaedia Judaica

Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Bible to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures

Encyclopedia of Judaism

Anchor Bible Dictionary -- Judaica Electronic Resource Center

Print version: Judaica Ref BS440 .A54 1992

Hebcal.com:  Jewish Calendar Tools

Oxford Reference Online:  Religion

The Yivo Encyclopedia of Jews in Eastern Europe

Judaica Librarian

James Rosenbloom's picture
James Rosenbloom
Contact:
Rosenbloom@Brandeis.edu
781-736-4688

Web Megasites

Jewish  Internet Guide

Jewish History Resource Center -- Dinur Center

Promotes the study and research of Jewish History throughout the ages, as well as the compilation of information relating to the study of Jewish History throughout the world

Internet Jewish History Sourcebook: Medieval Jewish Life

JewishGen: The Home of Jewish Genealogy