Skip to main content

Publishing Support

Open Access

Open Access

As scholars and researchers look toward new methods of sharing their information, Open Access allows them a free method of promoting that research. (Keep in mind that some publishers still charge a fee) 

 
What is Open Access (OA)

Open Access (OA) literature is digital, online, free of charge, and free of most licensing restrictions. (Paul Suber, "Open Access Review" http://legacy.earlham.edu/~peters/fos/overview.htm)  Unlike traditional publisher platforms, Open Access scholarly literature is free of charge and in most cases, carrier less restrictive licensing barriers for authors and patrons. 

Many OA journals and platforms comply with well-established peer-review processes and maintain top-quality publishing standards.  

 

 

 

History of OA

The Open Access Movement started in the 1960s and 1970s. In 1971, Michael Hart launched Project Gutenberg. But OA didn't gain popularity until the rise of the digital era beginning in the 1990s as the internet created new possibilities for disseminating information.  The internet gave way for the scholarly community to collaborate online and share research openly.  Through a partnership between Johns Hopkins University Press and Milton S. Eisenhower Library, Project MUSE was created. Although not free access, the creators allow authors to retain their copyright.  By the early 2000s,  the emergence of PubMed Central with full-text articles in OA and PLoS (Public Library of Science) paved the way to new possibilities for OA. Then in 2008. Congress passed a spending bill mandating that OA to research funded by the US National Institute of Health (NIH). As of February 2019, over 4,500 institutional and cross-institutional repositories have been registered in the Registry of Open Access Repositories. With the landscape of scholarly publishing changes, the demand for OA has increased.

 

Below is a short video that explains Open Access

Brandeis Open Access Fund

The Brandeis Library provides guidance and support to the greater Brandeis community wishing to publish their works in Open Access journals, platforms, etc.

The purpose of the Brandeis University Library Open Access Fund is to extend the Library’s support of scholarly publishing to faculty, staff, and students in established scholarly journals that are not supported through subscriptions. Providing the requirements are met, the library will provide 100% of the funding per article.

For more information about the Brandeis Open Access Fund, Requirements and Submission Process, please visit the Publishing Support section of the Brandeis Library website. 


Brandeis Open Access Fund Recipients Include: 

Dolores Acevedo-Garcia (Heller School)  Lee Bloch (Anthropology/American Studies) Xuewen Du (Chemistry) Charles Golden (Anthropology) Laura Goldin (Environmental Studies) Steve Goldstein (Biochemistry) Angela Gutchess (Psychology/Neuroscience)  Brandon Hager (Psychology) James Harber (Biology) Lizbeth Hedstrom (Biology) Pengyu Hong (Computer Science)  Jytte Klausen (Politics) Andrew Koh (Classical Studies) John Ksander (Psychology) James Lackner (Psychology)  Nelson Lau (Biology) Susan Lovett (Biology) Sophia Malamud (Linguistics/Computer Science) Paul Miller (Biology) Thomas Pochapsky (Chemistry) Linda Pololi (WSRC)  Aimee Slater (Brandeis Library) Lacey Smith (Genetic Counseling) Alycia Sullivan (Psychology) Stephen Van Hooser (Biology) Wu Zeng (Heller School) Rong Zhou (Chemistry)

Open Access Journals

Here are some helpful links to Open Access Journals and directories: 

  • Open Access Directory (OAD) - The Open Access Directory (OAD) is a wiki where the open access community creates and maintains lists about open access and open access scholarship. 
  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) - DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
  • Open Science (Elsevier) -  All articles in open access journals which are published by Elsevier have undergone peer review and upon acceptance are immediately and permanently free for everyone to read and download. A fee is payable by the author, or their institution or funder to cover the publication costs. Fees range between c$150 and c$6,000 US Dollars excluding tax. Visit your journal's homepages for specific pricing information. For more information, please visit the site. 
  • PubMed - PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
  • PLoS - PLOS was founded as a nonprofit Open Access publisher, innovator and advocacy organization with a mission to advance progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
  • BioMed Central (BMC) - A pioneer of open access publishing, BMC has an evolving portfolio of high quality peer-reviewed journals including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine, specialist journals such as Malaria Journal and Microbiome, and the BMC Series.
  • eLife - eLife is a non-profit organization inspired by research funders and led by scientists. Our mission is to help scientists accelerate discovery by operating a platform for research communication that encourages and recognizes the most responsible behaviors in science.