Skip to main content

Publishing Support

Brandeis Institutional Repository (BIR)

What is the Brandeis Institutional Repository? 

The BIR is a historical record of the research done by our faculty, students and staff. The BIR contributes to the scholarly communication landscape by providing access to scholarly material that is open and free to all. It is a place for our scholarly community to showcase the amazing research and work that happens on this campus. 

 

Why Submit Your Work to the BIR? 

For faculty, it is the place to keep a digital copy of your publications in one place. For students who are working on theses or major projects on campus, the BIR helps preserve your academic achievements while at Brandeis. And for staff, it is the place to house your conference papers and any key achievements in your field.

For more information on what materials can be submitted, please visit the Brandeis Library page on the Brandeis Institutional Repository

Collections in BIR

The BIR works closely with the Brandeis University Press, the Classics DepartmentArchives and Special Collections, the Cohen Institute, the Women’s Studies Research Center just to name a few. The content found in the BIR is organized into communities to reflect the academic and administrative organization of the University. We have within the collection more than 100 faculty publications, 14 digital collections through Archives & Special Collections, 550 GSAS master’s theses and much more.

We collaborate with the Classics Department and the Classical Studies Artifact Research Collection (CLARC). We provide training and teach students the importance of metadata in describing physical objects to make them discoverable to the scholarly community.

Archives & Special Collections continues to add new and unique collections to the BIR. One of the most popular collection in the BIR is the Honoré Daumier Digitized Lithographs Collection. There are approximately 5,000 digitized images in the collection.

For more information, or if you think you have something to deposit, please visit the Brandeis Institutional Repository.