Research Guides: HSSP102: Global Perspectives on Health: Finding Books & Journal Articles

Social Sciences Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-4673

Subjects: American Studies, Health Policy, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, International & Global Studies, Journalism, Legal Studies, Politics, Public Policy

Remember: NEVER PAY

If you hit a Pay Wall, that is (a page that asks you to pay a fee to access a journal or article) NEVER PAY! You will often have access through Brandeis or Inter-Library Loan. Contact Aimee or Gina!

Related Databases

Since health studies topics are addressed by many disciplines, students and researchers may also be interested in consulting electronic databases from other fields.

ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Database sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education that provides access to scholarly journals, curriculum and teaching guides, research reports, and other materials related to the field of education.
EconLit (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Extensive database of economic literature from 1886-present. Produced by the American Economic Association.

Where to Start Searching

Brandeis OneSearch
Library Catalog

Library Catalog: Use this option to search for physical items (books, print journals, DVDs, etc.), ebooks, and streaming media owned by the library.
Articles & More: Use this option to search across many databases of articles in journals, newspapers, magazines, encyclopedias, and dictionaries. This does not search all databases, however.
All OneSearch: Use this option to search both the Library Catalog and Articles & More.
Course Reserves: Use this option to search for books that have been set aside for your courses.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Wide variety of scholarly literature, newspapers, magazines, and more covering topics from a wide variety of disciplines. A great place to start searching for sources on your subject!

Google Scholar
Google Scholar uses Google's powerful search to find scholarly literature. This link to Google Scholar authenticates you as a Brandeis user and provides the Get It @ Brandeis link next to most of your search results. This allows you to more easily find the full text of the articles.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journals and ebooks spanning many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Often does not have the last 1-3 years of a publication. Use Advanced Search to select specific subject areas.
WorldCat Discovery (OCLC) This link opens in a new window
A combined catalog for libraries around the world. Use it to request material from other libraries, and pick them up at Brandeis Library.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text news, business, industry and legal information from major newspapers and magazines.

Journal Literature

Cochrane Library (Wiley) This link opens in a new window
Find high-quality evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Included databases are the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); and Cochrane Clinical Answers.
Health Reference Center Academic (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date information on the complete range of health care topics. Sources include full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries. Designed for healthcare students, professionals, and researchers.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and other materials on lesbian, bisexual, gay, and trans (LGBT) topics. Database includes a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database for biomedical and health journals, curated by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Entries from thousands of journals that have been approved by the advisory committee as high quality, with coverage back to 1966.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Public policy papers and grey literature from over 120 countries, 1915-present.
Policy File Index (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Offers access to U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature. Updated weekly with abstracts and links to reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.
APA PsycInfo (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in psychology. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law. Coverage 1887 to present, includes 1,700+ international sources in over 35 languages.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
More than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Produced by the National Library of Medicine and the NIH, includes full text of all research funded by the NIH since 2008.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic publications. Search across all content, limit to a single title, or choose by subject subsets.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search journals of social work, social welfare, social policy and community development, 1979 to present.
Women's Studies International (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and other materials on topics related to womens studies, gender studies, and feminist research. Coverage: 1972 - present.
World Bank e-Library This link opens in a new window
Complete collection of World Bank publications since the 1990s. World Development Indicators data is available in easy-to-display tables with customizable time series.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection searches across multiple social sciences databases, including IBSS, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.