Call Number: Creative Arts Reference N6502 .E53 2000 (borrow a digitized copy from the Internet Archive)
Over 1,400 articles in this volume cover all the major artistic developments in Central and South America and the Caribbean from the colonial period to the present. From 16th-century Spanish colonial architects such as Fray Andres San Miguel to European explorers such as Alexander von Humboldtto contemporary artists such as Debora Arango, the entries chart the adaptations of European artistic traditions and the evolution of individual national cultures in this area of burgeoning importance in history and the visual arts.
Focuses primarily on painting, sculpture, & the graphic arts (including conceptual, performance, & video art). Mostly biographical entries, but there are also entries on styles & terms, artists' groups, schools, & movements, cultural centers, & museums.
Online art & architecture reference
Cross-search several resources in a single search across these groups of dictionaries and encyclopedias on art and art history.
Online access to definitive reference works encompassing all aspects of visual culture; includes biographical and subject entries with bibliographies for further research and searchable images made available through Oxford's partnerships with museums, galleries, and other arts organizations.
Comprehensive source of artists’ biographies in the English language, long a standard reference work in France. Particularly known for its coverage of nineteenth-century and East Asian artists, historic auction prices, and images of artists’ signatures and monograms.
Objects from the Met's collections are linked to chronological, geographical, and thematic timelines and essays. Note the suggested bibliography ("Further reading") that appears under many of the essays -- these books and articles may help you with your research.
Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Art by 