Research Guides: FA 77B: Twentieth-Century and Contemporary Latin American Art: Finding articles

Lisa Zeidenberg

she/her/hers

Contact:

lzeidenb@brandeis.edu

781-736-4697

Subjects: Art, Architecture and Photography, Classical and Early Mediterranean Studies, Film Studies, Music, Theater and Dance

Art & architecture

Art & Architecture Complete
Journals, magazines, trade publications and books covering a variety of art and architecture subjects including art and art history, antiques, interior and landscape design, and more; also includes a large image collection.
International Bibliography of Art
The definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art, IBA includes international scholarship on fine and decorative arts, museum studies, archaeology, classical studies and material culture. Coverage from 1975-2007 is provided in the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) database.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Searchable bibliography of books, journal articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition catalogs, reviews, and dealers' catalogs about European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the early 21st century. Covers 1975-2007.
Art & Architecture Archive
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography.
Database available through at least May 31, 2028, as part of ProQuest's Evidence-Based Acquisition Program.
ARTbibliographies Modern
Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.

All Art, Architecture, and Photography Databases

Latin American Studies

PRISMA Database with HAPI Index
Provides 100+ full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Latin America and the Caribbean. Articles are in English, Spanish and Portuguese. Includes materials which are indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI). Coverage: 1966 - current
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index | UCLA
Find journal articles about Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US, published from 1967-present. Search in Spanish, English or Portuguese. Use the “Brandeis Access” button to get full text from Brandeis Library. Now includes open access articles from SciELO-México!
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)
Contains scholarly assessments of publications related to Latin America, from the 1930s to the present. Please note that this database does not include full text; after finding an item in HLAS, we recommend searching for it in OneSearch.

Art and architecture databases provided by the Boston Public Library

Access to these databases requires a BPL electronic library card (eCard); please see instructions on how to get one.

Art Full Text - through Boston Public Library (BPL)
Covers a wide range of fine arts topics; lots of full text.

more... less...

Periodicals covered include English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins. Additional periodicals are published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. This database also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Coverage: indexing of periodicals from 1984-present and full text from 1995-present.
Art Index Retrospective - through Boston Public Library (BPL)
Index to fine arts-related scholarly articles published between 1929-1984. Links to full-text articles are provided.

more... less...

A bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. The database cites articles from periodicals published throughout the world, including English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals are also included.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals - through Boston Public Library (BPL)
Information on archaeology, architecture, furniture, urban design, historic preservation, landscape architecture and urban planning history. Coverage: 1930s-present, selective coverage dating to 1860s