Skip to main content
“Brandeis

Bioinformatics

Resources and links for online students of the Rabb Bioinformatics Program

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)

NCBI logo

 

 



The NCBI has been charged with creating automated systems for storing and analyzing knowledge about molecular biology, biochemistry, and genetics; facilitating the use of such databases and software by the research and medical community; coordinating efforts to gather biotechnology information both nationally and internationally; and performing research into advanced methods of computer-based information processing for analyzing the structure and function of biologically important molecules.  A government research organization under the NIH, NCBI maintains many public resources for biomedical research, such as:

 

European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL)

Image result for EMBL
Europe's flagship laboratory for the life sciences, the EMBL is a publicly-funded non-profit institute consisting of five sites across Europe, each member state's research efforts focused on one large area of molecular research: general molecular biology (Heidelberg), structural biology (Grenoble), structural biology (Hamburg), mouse biology (Monterotondo), and the European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI) in Hinxton UK.

Japan National Institute of Genetics (NIG)

Image result for DDBJ logo
The National Institute of Genetics (NIG), established to advance research in the life sciences, maintains three three core research arms: the Bioresources Center, the DNA Data Bank of Japan (DDBJ), and the DNA Sequencing Center.

International Nucleotide Sequence Database Collaboration

The International Nucleotide Sequence Database Collaboration (INSDC) is a long-standing foundational initiative that operates between DDBJ, ENA/EMBL and NCBI. INSDC covers the spectrum of data raw reads, though alignments and assemblies to functional annotation, enriched with contextual information relating to samples and experimental configurations.

Protein Sequence Database Portals

Gene Expression Databases

Databases Index/Directory