HIST 202b: Modern American History in Global Perspective

Presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English for use in research and teaching. The database is a comprehensive retrospective digest of the news presented to the Soviet and Russian public from 1949-1991. Try searching for articles reporting on the civil rights movement taking place in the US, example article.

Includes records of major civil rights organizations and personal papers of leaders and observers of the 20th century Black freedom struggle. The three major civil rights organizations are the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, and the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs. Papers of civil rights leaders included in this collection are those of the civil rights and labor leader A. Philip Randolph; the long-time civil rights activist and organizer of the March on Washington, Bayard Rustin, the papers of the pioneering educator Mary McLeod Bethune, and the records of Claude A. Barnett's Associated Negro Press.

The digitized NAACP Papers covers records from the organization from 1909-1970 and includes minutes of directors’ meetings, monthly reports from officers to the board of directors, proceedings of the annual business meetings, and significant records of the association’s annual conferences. The papers also include special reports on a wide range of issues including the Ku Klux Klan, discrimination in public employment, the depiction of Blacks in motion pictures, economic equality, the church and civil rights, the changing attitudes of Black youth, and more.

Includes diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, newspapers, press, underground press, alternative publications, and scholarly commentary. This collection is useful to those studying American history, society, culture, and politics, and includes materials digitized from collections in Brandeis University Archives & Special Collections, including materials on student activism and radical politics.

Includes full-text and full-image issues of The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922), The American Israelite (1854-2000), The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945), Boston Globe (1872-1984), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1992), The Jerusalem Post (1932-2008), The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990), The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990), Los Angeles Times (1881-1992), The New York Times (1851-2012), The Times of India (1838-2005), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1998), and The Washington Post (1877-1999).

Indexes and provides full text to over 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the American ethnic, minority, and native press, 1960 to present. Starting dates vary.