HIST 202b: Modern American History in Global Perspective

Includes diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, newspapers, press, underground press, alternative publications, and scholarly commentary. This collection is useful to those studying American history, society, culture, and politics, and includes materials digitized from collections in Brandeis University Archives & Special Collections, including materials on student activism and radical politics. Interested in images? Use the Document Type menu option to limit your search to cartoons, posters, or illustration/art work/photograph.

Includes commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, and public affairs footage of historical events.

Includes full-text and full-image issues of The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922), The American Israelite (1854-2000), The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945), Boston Globe (1872-1984), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1992), The Jerusalem Post (1932-2008), The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990), The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990), Los Angeles Times (1881-1992), The New York Times (1851-2012), The Wall Street Journal (1889-1998), and The Washington Post (1877-1999). Tip: Use menu options to the left of your search results to limit your search by date and/or type of article (editorial, comic, ad, letter to the editor, etc.)

Contains the most comprehensive set of declassified government documents available. Each of these collections, compiled by top scholars and experts, exhaustively covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century. Glossaries, chronologies, bibliographies, overviews, and photographs are included. Includes two collections related to Vietnam.