Skip to Main Content

*Film Studies

Guide to resources for research in Film, Television & Media Studies at Brandeis

International influences

Destination Hollywood: The Influence of Europeans on American Filmmaking by Larry Langman
Call Number: Main Library Stacks PN1998.2 .L36 2000
Hollywood and the Foreign Touch: A Dictionary of Foreign Filmmakers and their Films from America, 1910-1995 by Harry Waldman
Call Number: Main Library Stacks PN1998.2 .W38 1996

World cinema

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers (Gale) by Sara Pendergast and Tom Pendergast
v. 1. Films -- v. 2. Directors -- v. 3. Actors and actresses -- v. 4. Writers and production artists.
Print edition also available.

Directory of World Cinema
OneSearch catalog link to multi-volume series of country-specific e-books from Intellect

British film

The Encyclopedia of British Film (e-book) by Brian McFarlane (Editor); Anthony Slide (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016-05-16
Historical Dictionary of British Cinema (e-book) by Alan Burton; Steve Chibnall
Publication Date: 2013-07-11
British Film Directors: A Critical Guide (e-book) by Robert Shail
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
British Film Catalogue by Denis Gifford (Editor)
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference PN1998 .G543 2001

Europe

French Cinema--A Critical Filmography (e-book) by Colin Crisp
Volume 1, 1929-1939, Volume 2, 1940–1958
The A to Z of German Cinema (e-book) by Robert C. Reimer
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
The Concise Cinegraph: Encyclopaedia of German Cinema (e-book) by Hans-Michael Bock; Tim Bergfelder
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
The BFI Companion to German Cinema by Thomas Elsaesser; Michael Wedel (Editor); Martin Wedel (Editor)
Call Number: Main Library Stacks PN1993.5.G3 B45 1999
Italian Film: A Who's Who by John Stewart
Call Number: Main Library Stacks PN1998.2 .S74 1994
Historical Dictionary of Spanish Cinema (e-book) by Alberto Mira Nouselles
Publication Date: 2010-02-01
The BFI Companion to Eastern European and Russian Cinema by Richard Taylor (Editor); Julian Graffy (Editor); Dina Iordanova (Editor); Nancy Wood
Call Number: Main Library Stacks PN1993.5.E2 B44 2000

Americas

Take One's Essential Guide to Canadian Film (e-book) by Wyndham Wise (Editor)
Publication Date: 2001-09-08
Mexican Cinema by Paulo Antonio Paranagua; Ana López (Translator)
Call Number: Main Library Stacks PN1993.5.M4 C4913 1995
A Guide to Latin American, Caribbean and U.S. Latino Made Film and Video by Karen Ranucci; Julie Feldman
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference PN1995.9.L37 G85 1998
Historical Dictionary of South American Cinema (e-book) by Peter H. Rist
Publication Date: 2014-05-08

Asia, Africa & the Middle East

The Japanese Filmography by Stuart Galbraith
Call Number: Main Library Stacks PN1993.5.J3 G35 1996
Encyclopedia of Chinese Film (e-book) by Yingjin Zhang (Editor); Zhiwei Xiao
Publication Date: 1999-02-10
Encyclopedia of Indian Cinema by Ashish Rajadhyaksha (Editor); Paul Willemen (Editor)
Call Number: Creative Arts - Reference PN1993.5.I8 R277 1999
"Produced in association with the National Film Archive of India."
Arab Filmmakers of the Middle East: A Dictionary (ebook) by Roy Armes
Publication Date: 2010-08-23
Companion Encyclopedia of Middle Eastern and North African Film (ebook) by Oliver Leaman (Editor)
Publication Date: 2001-10-12
Dictionary of African Filmmakers (e-book) by Roy Armes
Publication Date: 2008-07-11

Last Updated: Nov 4, 2024 1:25 PM
URL: https://guides.library.brandeis.edu/film
Print Page

Subjects: Film Studies

Tags: film, filmmakers, television, video