Welcome to a selective guide to the fundamental and essential resources necessary for undertaking undergraduate and graduate research in music and music-related topics. (Originally compiled by Darwin Scott)
Comprehensive compendium of music scholarship offering the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, The Norton Grove Dictionary of Women Composers, and the in-process content of The Grove Encyclopedia of American Music and The Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments. Includes signed articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world, with numerous subsequent updates and emendations.
German-language database with integrated Google translation feature offers in-depth articles on every aspect of music as well as many related areas such as literature, philosophy, and visual arts.Contains the second print edition ofMGG (Die Musik in Geschichte und Gegenwart), published from 1994 to 2008, as well as current, continuous online updates and additions.
A ten volume encyclopedia of music from all ends of the globe indexed by location, genre, cultural group, instruments, and subject. Brandeis currently has access to this database through ProQuest's Evidence-Based Acquisition Program. We will have access to these resources through at least May 31, 2024.
The most comprehensive reference work devoted exclusively to popular music, Colin Larkin's landmark Encyclopedia of Popular Music is the authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, & jazz artists, covering popular music from 1900 to the present.