Research Guides: Social Impact MBA: Industry Resources

Consumer & Industry Reports Useful for Marketing Students

MarketResearch.com
on campus access only
Provides the full text of lengthy demographic, consumer, lifestyle and industrial product market research reports. Special emphasis on research and strategic analysis focused on digital technologies and telecommunications industry.

S&P NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Full text versions of the S&P Industry Surveys, reports containing analysis, trend, and overview information for 50 industries, updated twice a year. 2001 to present. Please note that Brandeis access to this resource will end on March 31, 2025. More information.
Mintel Academic This link opens in a new window
Provides coverage across b2c (business to consumer) markets looking at consumer attitudes and behaviors. Also reports on the market size and market segmentation analyzing the past five years and forecasting the next five years.

Non-Profit Sources

Foundation Directory Online Professional This link opens in a new window
Identify grantmakers and potential funding sources with this database from the Foundation Center. Updated weekly, it also provides keyword searching of IRS 990 filings.

GuideStar
Get financial data on nonprofits and foundations. Create an account and login for free access to information about 1.7 million nonprofits including mission statements, board info, and IRS tax documents.
ProPublica NonProfit Explorer
View summaries of 3 million tax returns from tax-exempt organizations and see financial details such as their executive compensation and revenue and expenses
Charity Navigator
Provides charitable givers and social investors across the country with every type of charitable interest the tools necessary to make informed giving decisions.

Industry Resources

Gartner This link opens in a new window
Provides analysis and reports on the information technology industry.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Collection of research reports containing key statistics, industry conditions, market characteristics, industry performance, external market drivers, key success factors, and 5-year revenue forecasts for each US industry. IBIS Covers over 700 US industries; 192 China Industries and 75 of the largest industries world-wide. Also contains business environment reports. Updated throughout the year.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Offers company overviews of well-known organizations including their histories, operations, and competitors. (formerly Hoovers)
Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Current and historical directories of U.S. businesses and consumers. Search businesses by company name, geographic area, business type, SIC code, revenue, location, number of employees and more. Data may be exported to Excel and mapped. Coverage from 2003 - present. Updated monthly. Please note that Brandeis access to this resource will end on January 31, 2025. More information.
RMA eStatement Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides access to industry norms (ratios and default probability/cash flow measures) for 600+ industries by year, asset range and region.
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) This link opens in a new window
Contains financial, accounting, banking, economics, management, and marketing data. Also offers access to CRSP/Compustat Merged and the CRSP Survivor-Bias-Free US Mutual Fund; and some Global Insight data.
Note: Requires a Brandeis email address to access.