Skip to main content

*Chemistry

Chemistry information resources, both electronic and print, available at Brandeis University.

Science Librarian

Lauren Buckley's picture
Lauren Buckley
Contact:
781-736-4681

Best Bet Chemistry Databases

Patents

Best Bet: Google Patents - Search patents from the US and many other countries

US Patents: PatFT -  US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) searchable full-text patent database

European Patents: Espacenet - European Patent Office (EPO) searchable full-text patent database

SciFinder includes patents in results and allows you to limit your search to look in patents only. You can use one of the databases above to find the full patents.

Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations and theses written by other people can be very useful to you in your research.  They have not been peer reviewed, and you do not want to cite them as references directly.  But they are a good place to find ideas and you can benefit from the research other students have done by looking at references in a paper close to your topic to see if they found any you did not.

Journal Abbreviation Decoders

You might find yourself with an incomplete citation and you really want that article.  Use these tools to find the full name of the journal from the abbreviation in the citation.

CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool

CAplus Core Journals List

Once you know the journal your article appeared in, search by title in Brandeis OneSearch or Google Scholar to find the journal and get access to your article.