Research Guides: *Chemistry: Find sources

Science Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-3597

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Environmental Studies, Linguistics and Computational Linguistics, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Physics, Psychology

Find Articles and More

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
This is a new version of the database (called SciFinder-n). Don't have a SciFinder account yet? Register for an account.
The most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances, and reactions in chemistry and related sciences, including property, structure, and spectral data. Use is restricted to Brandeis students, staff, and faculty for educational use only.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic publications. Search across all content, limit to a single title, or choose by subject subsets.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Uses Google's powerful search to find scholarly literature. This link to Google Scholar authenticates you as a Brandeis user and provides the Brandeis Get It button next to many of your search results, allowing you to more easily find the full text of the articles.
Cambridge Structural Database (CSD) This link opens in a new window
World's repository for small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures. From x-ray and neutron diffraction analyses, 3D structures are pulled from the published literature as well as data submitted directly. Continuously updated and curated.
TOXLINE This link opens in a new window
This database, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from the core journal literature in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants and mutagens and teratogens.

Find Patents

Best Bet: Google Patents - Search patents from the US and many other countries

US Patents: Patent Public Search - US Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) searchable full-text patent database

European Patents: Espacenet - European Patent Office (EPO) searchable full-text patent database

You can also search for patents in SciFinder -n.

Find Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations and theses written by other people can be very useful to you in your research. They have not been peer reviewed, and you do not want to cite them as references directly. But they are a good place to find ideas and you can benefit from the research other students have done by looking at references in a paper close to your topic to see if they found any you did not.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.

ScholarWorks: Theses & Dissertations
Theses and dissertations by past Brandeis students. More content added all the time

Or go to the Archives & Special Collections department in the Main Library for a larger (older) selection of paper theses and dissertations.

Journal Abbreviation Decoders

You might find yourself with an incomplete citation and you really want that article. Use these tools to find the full name of the journal from the abbreviation in the citation.

CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool

CAplus Core Journals List

Once you know the journal your article appeared in, search by title in Brandeis OneSearch or Google Scholar to find the journal and get access to your article.