Skip to main content

Early Childhood Education

Zoe Weinstein

Zoe Weinstein's picture
Zoe Weinstein
Contact:
ztweinstein@brandeis.edu

Early Childhood Education Guide

This guide highlights early childhood education resources available at Brandeis, tips for effective research, and more. Please feel free to email or book an appointment with our Education Librarian, Zoe Weinstein (ztweinstein@brandeis.edu), if you have questions about these resources or need help with your research.

New Resource: Main Library Picture Book Collection

Our library recently started a picture book collection, which includes many award-winning titles. Books will continue to be added to this collection throughout the year. The collection is located in the Info Commons area of Goldfarb Library near our recreational reading collection.

Books are searchable by title in OneSearch. You can also use the advanced search feature in OneSearch to narrow your search results by the location "Main Library Juvenile Literature Collection."

Search Tips for Effective Research

When searching in a library database or library catalog, it's helpful to identify key concepts or search terms. The following search strategies can be used in our library catalog, Library OneSearch and in most of our library databases.

AND, OR, NOT:

  • Use AND to narrow your search. For example, using charter schools AND Massachusetts will find articles with all terms, giving you more specific results.
  • Use OR to broaden your results, such as using "individualized education program" OR IEP will find articles with either term, giving you more results.
  • Use NOT to filter out results with terms you don't need. This technique has mixed results, so use it with caution.


Phrase Searching: Put quotation marks (" ") around search terms to search for them as a phrase. For example: "early childhood education".

Truncation (*): The asterisk (*) replaces any number of characters and will find all forms of a word root. For example, educat* will find educate, educator, education, educating, etc.

Grouping Keywords: Use parentheses ( ) around your search terms to group them together. For example, the search ("lesson plans" OR activities) AND kindergarten will return results that reference either lesson plans or activities for kindergarten.

Document Delivery Services

Use our document delivery service to request a scan of a book chapter, journal article, or other item from our print collections. We'll scan and send you a PDF of your requested item.