Research Guides: Global Health Policy and Management (MS GHPM): Getting Started

Heller Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-4667

Subjects: Anthropology, Asian Studies and Asian American and Pacific Islander Studies, First Year Writing (FYS and CSEM) , Heller School for Social Policy and Management, Latin American, Caribbean and Latinx Studies, Myra Kraft Achievers Program (MKAP), Sociology, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

ELP at Heller

English Language Programs (ELP) at Heller
Improve your writing and oral communication skills! Brandeis University's English Language Programs (ELP) hold consultation sessions specifically for Heller students.

Brandeis Library OneSearch

High-Quality Evidence Synthesis

When a policymaker wants to know “what works,” they’re often looking for high-quality evidence synthesis. Here are a few respected sources.

Cochrane Library (Wiley)
Find high-quality evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Included databases are the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); and Cochrane Clinical Answers.

Campbell Systematic Reviews
An open access journal publishing systematic reviews, evidence and gap maps, and methods research papers. Specific topic areas include: Aging; Business and Management; Children and Young Persons Wellbeing; Climate Solutions; Crime and Justice; Disability; Education; International Development; Knowledge Translation and Implementation; Methods; Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity; and Social Welfare.

Annual Reviews
These subject-specific journals publish review articles in the biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Search one at a time, all, or any combination.

Key Concepts in Economics

The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics by Steven N. Durlauf; Lawrence E. Blume
Explains foundational concepts and terminology in economics. Over 2,000 chapters written by leading figures in the field, including Nobel laureates. This is a "living reference work," which means that it is regularly updated.

World Health Organization (WHO) Information Sources

Global Index Medicus (WHO)
The Global Index Medicus (GIM) provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries. The main objective is to increase the visibility and usability of this important set of resources. The material is collated and aggregated by WHO Regional Office Libraries on a central search platform allowing retrieval of bibliographical and full text information.
IRIS | World Health Organization (WHO)
IRIS is the digital library of WHO publications produced since 1948.
Research4Life
Research4Life provides institutions in low-and middle-income countries with online access to academic and professional peer-reviewed content.
Global Health Observatory (GHO) Data | WHO
GHO is a gateway to statistics for WHO member nations. Find country statistics as well as overall monitoring of progress towards health-related Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Other IGO Information Sources

Intergovernmental Organization (IGO) information sources that may provide useful information for public health professionals. See WHO information sources above.

United Nations Digital Library (UNDL)
Includes UN documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and flagship publications.
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR)
The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products. Books, journals, technical papers, and more: all free to download.
IMF eLibrary
Publications and data from the International Monetary Fund (IMF).

OECD
Books, papers, and statistics from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Published factbooks bring together essential statistics by theme; other statistical data can be manipulated as tables or charts within OECD Data Explorer and downloaded.

Global Health Policy and Management (MS GHPM)