Research Guides: Global Health Policy and Management (MS GHPM): Statistics & Data

Heller Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-4667

Subjects: Anthropology, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, Latin American, Caribbean and Latinx Studies, Sociology, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Data and Statistics

African Development Bank Group
Produces statistical data on economic conditions, health issues, and social situations in countries throughout Africa
CDC Data and Statistics
Navigate CDC data and statistics by topic, such as asthma, life expectancy, and reproductive health. Also links to tools such as Disability and Health Data System, and CDC's Vital Signs publication. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is part of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.
Data.CDC.gov
Browse the CDC Data Catalog to get open data from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), which is part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
World Bank DataBank
DataBank is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics, including the World Development Indicators; health, nutrition, and population statistics; and education statistics.
Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program
The DHS Program, funded primarily by USAID, collects and disseminates data on health and population trends in countries around the world. Their STATcompiler tool allows you to make custom tables based on thousands of demographic and health indicators across countries. Datasets can be downloaded and analyzed in a statistical software package; if you'd like to do that, DHS provides a helpful guide to Using Datasets for Analysis.
Eurostat
Statistics from the European Union (EU). Topics include economics, population, services, industry, agriculture, the environment, energy, science, and technology.
Gapminder Tools
Generate visualizations for global development data. Gapminder is a nonpartisan "fact tank" based in Sweden.
Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) | IHME
"The world’s most comprehensive catalog of surveys, censuses, vital statistics, and other health-related data." Hosted by IHME at the University of Washington.
Global Health Observatory (GHO) Data | WHO
GHO is a gateway to statistics for WHO member nations. Find country statistics as well as overall monitoring of progress towards health-related Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).
Humanitarian Data Exchange (HDX)
An open platform for sharing humanitarian data across crises and organizations. Managed by the Centre for Humanitarian Data at OCHA, part of the United Nations Secretariat.
Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME)
Country profiles, research reports, and data visualizations from an independent global health research center at the University of Washington. IHME also hosts the Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx).
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS)
IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. Data and services available free of charge. Find data across IPUMS projects, such as IPUMS Global Health; IPUMS International; and more.
International Statistics Agencies - US Census
Scroll to the bottom for a list of links by country for agencies responsible for collecting and hosting statistical data. Compiled and updated by the US Census.

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
ICPSR is the world's largest collection of digital social science data. Find qualitative and quantitative datasets, accompanying codebooks, publication lists and more. Formats include SPSS, Stata and Excel. Access to this resource from off campus requires that users initially register for an account while on campus.

Working/studying remotely? Request access to ICPSR data and resources by contacting icpsr-help@umich.edu. When you do, please let them know that you are a current student, faculty, or staff member at Brandeis University, and be sure to use your @brandeis.edu email address.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Full range of OECD's statistical databases as well as its analytical publications. Find prepared tables, country profiles and indicators, and datasets. Brandeis Library's subscription gives you full access to this site.

OECD.Stat
The OECD's data warehouse, containing economic and social data from member countries as well as emerging economies. Build your own tables and extract data for analysis from across the OECD's many databases.
more...less...
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation
and Development (OECD) is an intragovernmental organization whose members are committed to democratic government and the market economy, and seek to promote policies that will promote the economic and social well-being of people around the world.

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides current statistical data and comparisons for a wide-ranging and continually updated array of topics, using both publicly accessible and proprietary sources. The chief types of data are related to marketing, demographics, and government information. Sources include market forecasts, dossiers, and industry reports.

UN Data
Datasets and statistics from the United Nations.
UN Statistics Databases
A list of subject-specific statistics databases available from the United Nations.
UNICEF Data
Worldwide data about children and women, organized by country and topic.
United Nations Monthly Bulletin
Current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world.

What To Do With Datasets?

You've found the perfect dataset for your research. Now what?

Contact Margarita Corral, the library's data anaylsis specialist! She teaches workshops and offers one-on-one consultations on a number of data analysis software, including Stata, SPSS, and Excel. Contact her at mcorral@brandeis.edu. Also, check out her Data Analysis guide.

Interested in mapping your data? Contact Alex Willett, the GIS Librarian, at awillett@brandeis.edu. Also, check out the GIS guide.

Guide to Data Sources

Researching Developing Countries by Forrest Daniel Wright
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780081001561
Publication Date: 2015-11-25
A guide to data sources on topics including: human development, economics, governance, conflict, demographics, migration and refugees, environment, foreign aid, energy and infrastructure, innovation and entrepreneurship, geography and urban development, and public opinion.

Mapping and GIS Data

ArcGIS Online This link opens in a new window
Online mapping tool that lets you design and share maps, scenes, apps, layers, analytics, and data.
Community Analyst Online This link opens in a new window
Online mapping tool that includes global data and reports for more than 135 countries. Data sets range from population and households to healthcare spending and crime rates. Access recent demographics about total population, family size, household income, unemployment, and more.

Sign-in Process: Select the Your ArcGIS Organization's URL sign-in option. Type brandeis into the text box. Then sign-in with your Brandeis username and password.

GIS Data | Brandeis Library Research Guides
Find more sources for geographic data, and connect with the library's GIS specialist, via this Brandeis Library Research Guide.