Skip to main content
“Brandeis

Library Services for Rabb GPS Programs

This guide provides information about library services and resources that will be most useful for students in Rabb GPS online programs.

Find Journal Articles

The Brandeis Library provides access to hundreds of scholarly and trade journals, as well as databases that allow you to search many journals at once. 

Many of these databases are designed for particular academic areas or disciplines, so the best databases for your research will depend on your program. Check out our Databases A-Z list for a list of recommended databases by subject. Select the subject that most closely relates to your research topic from the All Subjects drop-down menu. 

You can also try one of the following databases, which include journals from many different disciplines:

Advanced tips for searching academic databases

Sometimes you can get what you need just by typing relevant search terms into a database. If that doesn't work, there are some strategies you can use to tell the database exactly what you're looking for. 


Use AND & OR

AND & OR (called "Boolean operators") are commands that tell the database how to look up your terms. 

AND

If you want to find information about doctors' communication, try searching for adolescents AND anxiety. This tells the database that you only want articles that mention both doctors and communication.

OR

OR gives the database alternative words/phrases to try. For example, searching for adolescents OR teens will find articles with either one of those terms. 

Use OR with synonyms to broaden your results. Searching for "adolescence or teens" will usually give you more results than just one of these terms, since different sources might use different terms.

Use parentheses around similar terms: (adolescence OR teens) AND (anxiety OR stress).


Truncation and phrase searching

Most, but not all, databases recognize these commands:

Use the asterisk (*) to search for all possible endings of a word. For example, "therap*" will find therapies, therapies, therapist, therapists, theraputic, therapeutically, etc.

Use quotation marks (“ ”) to search for a phrase. For example, "cognitive behavioral therapy" will find those words in that exact order.