Skip to Main Content
“Brandeis

Library Services for Brandeis Online Programs

This research guide highlights the services and resources that will be most helpful to you throughout your Brandeis Online program. The guide also includes tips on searching more effectively and ways to get help with research, writing, and citations.

Find Journal Articles

The Brandeis Library provides access to hundreds of scholarly and trade journals, as well as databases that allow you to search many journals at once. 

Many of these databases are designed for particular academic areas or disciplines, so the best databases for your research will depend on your program. Check out our Databases A-Z list for a list of recommended databases by subject. Select the subject that most closely relates to your research topic from the All Subjects drop-down menu. 

You can also try one of the following databases, which include journals from many different disciplines:

Accessing Full-Text in Brandeis OneSearch

You can use Brandeis Library OneSearch to see if we have full-text access to an article or book.

1. Use the link above or go to the library website and enter the title of the article into the Brandeis Library OneSearch box. 

2. The article you're looking for will usually show up in the top few search results. It will either say full text access or no full text. Click on the title to see your options.

a. If it says full text, you will sometimes see multiple publishers/database packages that provide full text, along with the dates of coverage. Choose any of the links that cover the year of the article you're looking for. 

Full text availability options

b. If it says no full text, click on the Request via Interlibrary Loan link. This will allow you to request the article from another library.

Screenshot of no full text available page

Connect Google Scholar to Brandeis Library

Google Scholar is a simple place to search for full text because it allows you to search open access resources and the Brandeis library's subscriptions at the same time.

You can adjust your settings to connect Google Scholar to the Brandeis library, which will ensure that you'll get full access to Brandeis' subscriptions. Follow these steps to change your settings.

Alternatively, you can use the link above or the link on the library's Databases A-Z page. These links will automatically add Get It @ Brandeis links to Google Scholar.

Screenshot of Google Scholar settings page. Follow steps below.

1. Go to Google Scholar and click on "Settings" in the menu bar.

2. Click on "Library Links."

3. Type "Brandeis" into the search bar.

4. Select "Brandeis University - GetIt @ Brandeis!"

5. Click "Save."

Interlibrary Loan

What is Interlibrary Loan (ILL)?

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) offers free access to materials needed for coursework and scholarly research that are not currently available through the Brandeis Library.   


What can I request through ILL?

You can request journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, and more through ILL. 

At this time, Brandeis Library is not able to mail physical items (books, DVDs, etc.) to students in online programs. However, you can search the WorldCat online catalog to see whether a library near you owns the item you're looking for (search for the title and enter your address or zip code in the Search Location to see the libraries closest to you that own the item).


How do I request articles and book chapters?

Search OneSearch, WorldCat, or a library database for the material you want to find. In a Library database, click on the "Get It" button to see if it's available in OneSearch.  If Brandeis Library does not have the item, scroll down to the “Get it from Interlibrary Loan” section of the OneSearch page to make a request. 

If Brandeis owns a physical copy of the item, you can request a scanned chapter by going to the "Find in Library/Request section" of the OneSearch record, and then click on “Request scanned chapter or pages”.  (If you’re not logged in, you’ll need to do so in order to see this option.)


How long does ILL take?

It typically takes between 1-5 days for articles and books chapters. Rare and old materials be more difficult to get and can take longer. Incomplete request forms can also delay requests.  


How can I learn more about ILL and register for an account?

The ILL self-help guide has more FAQs and explains how to log into your ILL account.