Skip to main content

*Near Eastern and Judaic Studies

Includes: The Ancient Near East, Bible, Judaica, New Testament, Islam, modern Middle East

Women and Gender Studies

Jewish Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia

Judaica Ref DS115.2 .J49 1998

A Bibliography of Works on Jewish Women’s History with References to Works on Jewish Gender Studies, Jewish Masculinity, and Jewish Sexuality (Felicia Herman)

Judaica Ref HQ1172 .H48 1998

There are a number of bilbligraphies on this subject in the same call number range in Judaica Reference

Women's Studies International

Israel and Zionism

New Encyclopedia of Zionism and Israel

Judaica Ref DS149 .N56 1994

Jewish Music

 

Judaica Sound Archives (Florida Atlantic University Libraries)

The Jewish Music WebCenter (Judith Pinnolis)

Provides an online forum for academic, organizational, and individual activities in Jewish music. Information is provided to encourage and support scholarship, enjoyment, creation and general knowledge of Jewish music.

Oxford Music Online -- article titled "Jewish Music"

Jewish Music in History and Culture

Klezmer Shack

Holocaust

Encyclopedia of the Holocaust
Judaica Ref D804 .E53 1990

Bibliography on Holocaust Literature -- Edelheit
Judaica Ref Z6374 .H6 B48 1986 and supplements

Yizkor Books Online (New York Public Library)

SICSA -- Vidal Sassoon International Center for the Study of Antisemitism

Dedicated to an independent, non-political approach to the accumulation and dissemination of knowledge necessary for understanding the phenomenon of antisemitism. The Center engages in research on antisemitism throughout the ages, focusing on relations between Jews and non-Jews, particularly in situations of tension and crisis.

JewishGen: The Home of Jewish Genealogy

Jewish Feminist Collections  -- See the Archives and Rare Books Page

Yiddish

Yiddish Studies

See the separate guide created by Judith Pinnolis

Jewish Law

The multi-language bibliography of Jewish law (Rakover)

Judaica Reference BM520.65 .R28 1990

There are other bibliographies in the same call number range in Judaica Reference

See also:

Judaica Text Resources: Rabbinics

American Jewry

American Jewish Yearbook

Print Copy: Judaica Ref E184 .J5 A55

The central repository of social scientific studies of North American Jewry. Primary functions are to (1) acquire, archive, and disseminate quantitative data sets and reports, both contemporary and historical and (2) encourage utilization of the archive through training and provide information about methods for studying Jewish communities. Our goal is to aid in understanding North American Jewish communities, and to improve the quality and utilization of research conducted about North American Jewry.

Berman Jewish Policy Archive

A vast collection of policy-relevant research and analysis on Jewish life, with holdings spanning from 1900 until today.

 

Jewish Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia - Judaica Ref DS115.2 .J49 1998

Concise Dictionary of American Jewish Biography- Judaica Ref E184 .J5 C653 1994

American Jewish Archives

Online Resources in American Jewish History