Research Guides: SOC 116b: Social Inequalities in the Media: Home

Home

Social Sciences Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-4667

Subjects: Anthropology, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, Latin American, Caribbean and Latinx Studies, Sociology, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Search News Databases

These library databases allow you to search across many publications at once.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Wide variety of scholarly literature, newspapers, magazines, and more. To limit your search to news or magazines, look for the "Source Types" filters on your search results screen.
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Contains newsreels, award-winning documentaries, field recordings, interviews, lectures, training videos, and primary footage.
Canadian Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Coverage for over 400 Canadian news sources, 1970s to present.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals from American ethnic and native communities, covering 1960 to the present.
International Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes newspapers and newswires from Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Covers 1980-present.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text news, business, industry and legal information from major newspapers and magazines.
U.S. Hispanic Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Hispanic Newsstream offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from U.S. publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinión (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and El Mundo (Cambridge, Mass.).
U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Features newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites from across the U.S., from the 1980s to present.

Search for Newspapers and Magazines by Title

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
Do a title search in Brandeis Library OneSearch to find newspapers and magazines by title. When a publication is available through multiple databases, be sure to pay attention to years included in each database.
Library Catalog: Your first stop to connect to items that the Library owns or has immediate access to.
Brandeis and More: Your second stop if you want to broaden your search beyond Brandeis. Request materials from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan.
Course Reserves: Search for books and films that have been set aside for your courses.
Archives and Special Collections: Search for rare and unique materials (both physical and digital) held by Brandeis Library.
Brandeis ScholarWorks: Search for research and creative work created by Brandeis faculty, students, and staff.

Databases A to Z: News and Media
Browse the full list of news and media databases available to you from Brandeis Library. Covers both historical and contemporary sources.
Today's News | Brandeis Library Research Guides
Browse newspapers and magazines by title, and connect to more resources, on the Today's News guide from Brandeis Library.

Selected Publications and Archives

Boston Globe (1980-Present) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the Boston Globe, 1980 to present.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides access to primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to the 21st century. Includes US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting, video gaming, and theater, along with film fan magazines and music press titles. Coverage varies, with a focus on 20th Century material.
GQ Archive This link opens in a new window
The backfile of Gentlemen's Quarterly, one of the longest-running, most influential men's magazines. Database available through at least May 31, 2025, as part of ProQuest's Evidence-Based Acquisition Program.
Harper's Bazaar Archive (US and UK) This link opens in a new window
Full-color online issues of Harper's Bazaar 1867 - Current. (US and UK editions).
Database available through at least May 31, 2025, as part of ProQuest's Evidence-Based Acquisition Program.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Collection of alternative press publications produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals This link opens in a new window
A collection of English-language publications covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism’s rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations. Covers 1845-2015.
Database available through at least May 31, 2025, as part of ProQuest's Evidence-Based Acquisition Program.

The Magazine Rack at Internet Archive
The Magazine Rack is a collection of digitized magazines and monthly publications. 1753-present.

National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new window
Access full-color issues of National Geographic in this digital magazine archive (1888 to present)
New York Times Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
Free access to The New York Times website. The Library's academic site license include access through mobile apps. More information and directions for setting up and renewing your academic account.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
A searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Pages, advertisements, covers and fold-outs have been included, with rich indexing enabling researchers to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.
Wall Street Journal (1984-Present) This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of the Wall Street Journal, 1984 to present.
Women's Magazine Archive‎ (1846 - 2005) This link opens in a new window
Includes the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines, covering the late 19th century through to 2005.
Women's Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive, high-resolution archive of Women’s Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to six months from the present. Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included.

Search for Scholarly Articles

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers from sociology and related fields. 1952-present.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search journals of sociology and related disciplines. Be sure use the index of "Subject Terms" to stretch the search capabilities of this database to their fullest extent!
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search millions of journal articles and selected books in this interdisciplinary database. Especially strong in anthropology, economics, political science and sociology. 1951-present.
Women's Studies International (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and other materials on topics related to womens studies, gender studies, and feminist research. Coverage: 1972 - present.
LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and other materials on lesbian, bisexual, gay, and trans (LGBT) topics. Database includes a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Wide variety of scholarly literature, newspapers, magazines, and more covering topics from a wide variety of disciplines. A great place to start searching for sources on your subject!

Selected Scholarly Journals

These represent just a few journals you might want to browse when doing research on your topic. Search for journals by title in OneSearch.