Research Guides: SOC 18a: Observing the Social World: Doing Qualitative Sociology: Resources for SOC 18a

Resources for SOC 18a

Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-4667

Subjects: Anthropology, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, Latin American, Caribbean and Latinx Studies, Sociology, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Additional Library Guides

Sociology
by Maric Kramer Last Updated Mar 7, 2025 106 views this year
Doing a Literature Review in Sociology
by Maric Kramer Last Updated Mar 19, 2024 93 views this year
Citing Sources
by Lisa Zeidenberg Last Updated Mar 14, 2025 464 views this year
Citing Generative AI
by Zoe Weinstein Last Updated Sep 26, 2024 444 views this year

Social Science Data Analysis
by Margarita Corral Last Updated Mar 25, 2025 1109 views this year

Find Sociology Articles in Library Databases

Sociology Collection This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of several databases: Sociological Abstracts, Social Services Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA), and ProQuest's Sociology Database. Find journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and more.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search journals of sociology and related disciplines. Be sure use the index of "Subject Terms" to stretch the search capabilities of this database to their fullest extent!
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search millions of journal articles and selected books in this interdisciplinary database. Especially strong in anthropology, economics, political science and sociology. 1951-present.

Find more on our Databases A-Z: Sociology page.

Brandeis Library OneSearch

Get Published Reviews and Bibliographies

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Review articles synthesize a large body of literature to help you identify historical trends and future directions in research. Annual Reviews publishes review articles across many different academic disciplines, including sociology.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Start your research with this collection of annotated bibliographies. Each provides a brief overview of a topic, followed by a list of recommended books, articles, and other sources. From Afrofuturism (Literary and Critical Theory) to the Zapatista Rebellion in Chiapas (Latin American Studies), get connected to key scholarship and primary sources to support your research.

Need Some Background Information?

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology by George Ritzer (Editor)
Publication Date: 2007 (continuously updated)
Explanations of key concepts, theories, and figures in sociology. Browse by topic (such as Health & Medicine, or Social Psychology) or search for a key concept (like "Attitudes and Behavior") or a major figure (like Max Weber). Although this resource was initially published in 2007, it undergoes updates twice a year to keep the content fresh.
A Dictionary of Sociology by John Scott
Publication Date: 2014
Brief explanations of terminology, methods, concepts, and thinkers in the field of sociology.

How to Read Strategically

How do you determine if an article or book could be useful for your own research? We recommend an initial quick read, or skim. Knowing where to look for the main ideas and conclusions in a piece of writing can help you to determine its relevance to your work-- before you invest the time to read it deeply. Below are some of our favorite resources to help you skim effectively.

How to Read (and Understand) a Social Science Journal Article This handout was created by Frederique Laubepin, PhD, for ICPSR in 2013.
Determining Relevance of a Book (PDF)
Determining Relevance of an Article (PDF)

American Sociological Association: Sections

Current Sections | American Sociological Association
Get an overview of some of the subfields within sociology by taking a look at this list of "sections" within the American Sociological Association (ASA). "Sections" are how sociologists who are members of ASA organize themselves into groups of scholars who are investigating similar topics, or using similar methods or theoretical frameworks.

What is "Peer Review?"

Peer Review in Three Minutes by NCSU Libraries is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 3.0 US.

Find more short videos by NCSU Libraries at their website.

Get Atlas.ti for Qualitative Data Analysis

Atlas.ti is one of the CAQDAS (Computer-Aided Qualitative Data Analysis Software) programs.

It is a useful tool for supporting the process of qualitative data analysis. You will be able to analyze textual, graphical, audio and video data.

Students, faculty and staff at Brandeis can get ATLAS.ti from the ITS online software store for free

Atlas.ti Training and Video Tutorials

Transcription Tools

Automatically transcribe your recordings using one of the following tools that you have access to through Brandeis. Both services allow you to edit transcriptions.

Using your Brandeis Zoom account, record to the cloud to make use of Zoom's automatic transcription feature.
Echo360 also automatically transcribes all videos you upload to your account.

Access these and other software tools from the ITS website.