Research Guides: WGS 107b: Native American &amp; Indigenous Women, Gender(s), and Dance: Resources

Social Sciences Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-4667

Subjects: Anthropology, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, Latin American, Caribbean and Latinx Studies, Sociology, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Reference Works

International Encyclopedia of Dance by Selma Jeanne Cohen (Editor)
Publication Date: 2004
Covers the full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Cultural and national overviews are accompanied by entries on dance forms, music and costumes, performances, and biographies of dancers and choreographers.
Native Studies Keywords by Stephanie Nohelani Teves (Editor); Andrea Smith (Editor); Michelle Raheja (Editor)
ISBN: 9780816531509
Publication Date: 2015
A variety of essays exploring eight concepts in Native studies and the words commonly used to describe them: sovereignty, land, indigeneity, nation, blood, tradition, colonialism, and indigenous knowledge. The chapter "Tradition and Performance," by Stephanie Nohelani Teves, discusses Hawaiian music and performance.

"Dance Ethnography" entry in Oxford Bibliographies
This annotated bibliography can lead you to additional sources on dance ethnography, which is research that puts dance into its social and cultural context.

Streaming Video

Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive
Streaming video access to recorded dance festival performances, from the 1930s to the present day.
Dance Online: Dance in Video
Performances, documentaries, interviews, and instructional videos featuring the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century, including ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.

Peer-Reviewed Scholarly Journals

American Indian Culture and Research Journal
Journal from UCLA's American Indian Studies Center, published since 1971. Open access, which means articles are free to read for anyone, anywhere.
The American Indian Quarterly
Published by the University of Nebraska Press. The above link will take you to issues published from 2000 to the present. For the backfile from v.1 (1974), with a five-year embargo on the most recent volumes, see JSTOR.
Decolonization: Indigeneity, Education, and Society
An open-access journal hosted by University of Toronto Libraries.
Native American and Indigenous Studies
Published by University of Minnesota Press. The above link will take you to issues published from Vol. 2 (2015) to the present. Visit JSTOR for issues published from Vol. 1 (2014) onward, with a three-year embargo on the most recent issues.
Wicazo Sa Review
Published by University of Minnesota Press. The above link will take you to issues published from Vol. 15 No. 2 (2000) to the present. Visit JSTOR for issues published from Vol. 1 No. 1 (1985) onward, with a three-year embargo on the most recent issues.

Databases for Scholarly Books and Articles

America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of articles on the history and culture of the parts of North America that make up the present-day US and Canada.
Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) This link opens in a new window
The I-Portal: Indigenous Studies Portal was launched in 2006 at the University of Saskatchewan as a tool for faculty, students, researchers, and members of the community to access digital Indigenous studies resources. Its primary focus is on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on Indigenous peoples of the United States, Australia, Aotearoa – New Zealand, and other areas of the world.
OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is the Brandeis Library's main catalog and database search tool.
Library Catalog: Your first stop to connect to items that the Library owns or has immediate access to.
Brandeis and More: Your second stop if you want to broaden your search beyond Brandeis. Request materials from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan.
Course Reserves: Search for books and films that have been set aside for your courses.
Archives and Special Collections: Search for rare and unique materials (both physical and digital) held by Brandeis Library.
Brandeis ScholarWorks: Search for research and creative work created by Brandeis faculty, students, and staff.
Women's Studies International (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and other materials on topics related to womens studies, gender studies, and feminist research. Coverage: 1972 - present.
LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and other materials on lesbian, bisexual, gay, and trans (LGBT) topics. Database includes a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.

News Sources

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Contemporary and historical newspapers, magazines, and journals from American ethnic, minority, and native communities, from 1960 to the present.

ICT
An independent, nonprofit news enterprise covering Indigenous peoples. Formerly known as Indian Country Today, its current publisher is IndiJ Public Media.
more...less...
Access back issues (1983-88; 1993-2011) via library databases.
Indianz.com
Native American news, information and entertainment. Owned and operated by Ho-Chunk Inc., the economic development corporation of the Winnebago tribe.