Skip to main content
Research Guides Brandeis University
OneSearch | Find Databases | e-Journals A-Z | Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Guide for Thesis Writers at Brandeis: Submitting Your Thesis

This guide will help Juniors and Seniors engaged in a thesis writing project at Brandeis University.

Submitting your thesis electronically to the Institutional Repository

If you would like to submit your honors thesis electronically to the Brandeis Institutional Repository, please deposit a PDF copy. Here are the downloadable instructions for submitting your thesis electronically.  We have also created a downloadable template for your title page.  Both files are also provided in this box for your convenience. 

Please note that only the final version is to be submitted electronically. Theses will still be submitted to senior thesis defense committees for review by whatever method the committee prefers. Electronic submission to the Institutional Repository is the final step in the process, after all corrections have been made.

If you have any questions about submitting your thesis electronically, please complete this webform.

Submitting a paper copy of your thesis to the Archives

If you would like to submit a paper copy of your thesis to the University Archives, please bring a clean copy (no staples, holes, or bindings of any sort) of the final version, along with your signed release form, to the Archives & Special Collections department on Goldfarb Level 2. Release forms are available from your departmental administrator and on our website at: https://lts.brandeis.edu/research/archives-speccoll/collections/archives/docs/thesis_release_form.pdf.

You may also send your thesis to us at any time either by inter-campus mail or by regular post. Our inter-campus mailbox number is MS 045, and our mailing address is: Robert D. Farber University Archives & Special Collections Department, Library and Technology Services MS 045, Brandeis University, Waltham, MA, 02454-9100.

While we do require that you fill out the top part of the thesis release form (granting us permission to have a copy of your thesis), you are not required to sign the bottom portion indicating that you allow us to photocopy your thesis for other researchers. However, we strongly encourage you to grant such permission as we receive many photocopy requests from researchers around the world who are interested in the topics our students write about! These researchers are required to fill out a form indicating that they will not violate your copyright, and they have permission to use the material for educational purposes only.

Your thesis will be bound, cataloged in Library OneSearch, and housed permanently in the University Archives, usually by the end of the following semester.

Brandeis Library FacebookTwitterInstagramTumblr
Library & Technology Footer