Research Guides: ANTH 144a: Anthropology of Gender: Home

Home

Social Sciences Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-4667

Subjects: Anthropology, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, Latin American, Caribbean and Latinx Studies, Sociology, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Background Information

Topic overviews and links to further reading. Use these sources to help you define your area of investigation and connect to an ongoing conversation among anthropologists.

The International Encyclopedia of Anthropology by Hilary Callan
Publication Date: 2018, updated continuously
Contains overview articles of major concepts, research, and techniques in anthropology. Sample topics include "digital anthropology," "archaeology and paleoanthropology," and "health, illness, and health care."

The Open Encyclopedia of Anthropology
The Open Encyclopedia of Anthropology (formerly Cambridge Encyclopedia of Anthropology) is a growing teaching and learning resource. Its goal is to facilitate access to scholarship in Social Anthropology for experts and non-experts worldwide. All entries are written and peer-reviewed by leading academics.

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Start your research with this collection of annotated bibliographies. Each provides a brief overview of a topic, followed by a list of recommended books, articles, and other sources. From Afrofuturism (Literary and Critical Theory) to the Zapatista Rebellion in Chiapas (Latin American Studies), get connected to key scholarship and primary sources to support your research.

Annual Review of Anthropology
Annual Reviews publish comprehensive literature reviews designed to get you up to date on the current research on your topic.

Keywords for Gender and Sexuality Studies by Keywords Feminist Editorial Collective
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2021
Introduces key terms, debates, and histories for feminist studies in gender and sexuality.

Databases of Scholarly Literature

Trace the conversation among scholars on your topic of interest. Use others' research studies as a basis for your own analysis.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search millions of journal articles and selected books in this interdisciplinary database. Especially strong in anthropology, economics, political science and sociology. 1951-present.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Current and back issues of the American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins.
Women's Studies International (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and other materials on topics related to womens studies, gender studies, and feminist research. Coverage: 1972 - present.
LGBTQ+ Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and other materials on lesbian, bisexual, gay, and trans (LGBT) topics. Database includes a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.

See more options, grouped by subject, on our A to Z database list.

Selected Primary Source Databases

Explore these primary source collections for inspiration on the phenomenon you want to analyze. You might even choose to center your analysis on a collection of documents, audio or video files, images, etc.

Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
Digitized primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. Find a wide range of materials, such as: oral histories from the African Women's Life History Project; declassified FBI files detailing surveillance of gays and lesbians in the U.S. from 1950 to 1982; and erotica from the "Private Case" of the British Museum Library.
Our access includes: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Parts I and II; Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century; International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture; and Community and Identity in North America.
Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides a history of the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. Includes documents such as diaries, letters, photographs, news clippings, organizational records, and journals, covering the nineteeth and twentieth centuries.
Women and Social Movements, International-- 1840 to Present This link opens in a new window
Focuses on women’s activism across the world, from 1840 to the present. Includes primary sources on topics related to peace, human trafficking, poverty, child labor, literacy, global inequality, and more.
Database available through at least May 31, 2025, as part of ProQuest's Evidence-Based Acquisition Program.
Women and Social Movements, Modern Empires since 1820 This link opens in a new window
Explores prominent themes related to conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices. This archival database includes documents related to the Habsburg, Ottoman, British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States empires, and to settler societies in the United States and South Africa.
Database available through at least May 31, 2025, as part of ProQuest's Evidence-Based Acquisition Program.
Women and Social Movements in the United States (1600-2000) This link opens in a new window
A collection of document projects--comprised of essays with supporting documents, images, and web links--focused on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000

See 100+ databases containing primary source materials on our Databases A to Z list.

Get to Know Zotero!

Zotero is free, open-source software that helps you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.

Learn more on our Zotero guide, which also lists upcoming workshops and links to make an individual appointment to get set up with Zotero!