Research Guides: *Anthropology: From the Archives

Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-4667

Subjects: Anthropology, Asian Studies and Asian American and Pacific Islander Studies, First Year Writing (FYS and CSEM) , Heller School for Social Policy and Management, Latin American, Caribbean and Latinx Studies, Myra Kraft Achievers Program (MKAP), Sociology, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Looking through documents, photographs and other physical artifacts in an archive can be immensely rewarding-- but figuring out what might exist in an archive can sometimes take a bit of work! Below, we have highlighted just a few selections from Brandeis University Archives & Special Collections. Contact a Brandeis archivist for help in figuring out whether we might have any materials that suit your research topic or interests.

Brandeis University Archives & Special Collections

Robert Hunt

Robert Hunt Papers: Finding aid
Hunt taught courses in economic anthropology, development and cross-cultural study at Brandeis from 1969 until his retirement in 2002 . His research interests include the study of economic and social structure, particularly with respect to irrigation and exchange systems.
Robert Manners Papers: Finding aid
Manners was a longtime professor in the department of Anthropology at Brandeis. This collection is unprocessed. Please contact the department for more information.
Robert Zeitlin papers: Finding aid
Robert Zeitlin is a professor emeritus in the Department of Anthropology at Brandeis University. His work includes an interest in prehistoric archeology of Mesoamerica and North America, pre-state and early state societies, political-economy, trade/exchange, sociocultural evolution, and archeological method and theory.
Cyrus Gordon Collection
Gordon was a professor of Mediterranean Studies with a focus on ancient languages. Interests included cuneiform and other ancient pictorial languages. This collection is unprocessed; please contact the department to access this collection.
Victorian ephemera: Finding aid
A collection of Victorian ephemera from both the United States and England. Ranging in scope from legal documents to greeting cards, advertisements to playbills, and including a large assortment of bookplates, this collection provides a detailed reflection of American and English Victorian life.

Find Digitized Primary Sources

Interested in doing some archival research using online materials? Check out the list of Primary Source databases you have access to through Brandeis Library. A small sampling of the 100+ databases available to you are below.

Women and Social Movements, International-- 1840 to Present

Focuses on women’s activism across the world, from 1840 to the present. Includes primary sources on topics related to peace, human trafficking, poverty, child labor, literacy, global inequality, and more.
Database available through at least May 31, 2028, as part of ProQuest's Evidence-Based Acquisition Program.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside
American Prison Newspapers will bring together hundreds of these periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions. Development of the collection began in July 2020 and will continue through 2021, with new content added regularly.
Antigua, Slavery and Emancipation in the Records of a Sugar Plantation, 1689-1907
This collection contains records pertaining to the Tudway family’s ownership of an Antiguan sugar plantation during the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries. The papers cover the period from the early slave trade to the post-slavery economy. The combination of statistical ledgers and narrative correspondence provides a unique insight into the operation and eventual abolition of the slave trade in the West Indies.