Research Guides: *Anthropology: Find Articles

Looking for Archaeology Resources?

Are you looking for Archaeology resources? Check out our Archaeology research guide.

Librarian

Maric Kramer

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-4667

Subjects: Anthropology, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, Latin American, Caribbean and Latinx Studies, Sociology, Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies

Databases are your key to finding scholarly, peer-reviewed articles in the field of anthropology and other related academic disciplines. They are also a good place to find book reviews.

Key Databases for Anthropology

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Search millions of journal articles and selected books in this interdisciplinary database. Especially strong in anthropology, economics, political science and sociology. 1951-present.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Combines two key databases for anthropology: the Royal Anthropological Institute's Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature. Broad coverage from early 19th century to present.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Current and back issues of the American Anthropological Association's journals and bulletins.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Popular archive of scholarly journals and ebooks spanning many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Use Advanced Search to select specific fields, such as anthropology.
Please note that the most recent seven years of American Anthropological Association journals (such as American Anthropologist and Medical Anthropology Quarterly) are not available in JSTOR. Use AnthroSource to search the complete run of AAA's 32 journals and download the full text.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Browse more than 400 databases on our Databases A to Z list. Narrow down by choosing a subject, such as Anthropology, or Health & Medicine.

Additional Databases to Try

Depending on your topic, it can be worthwhile to search in databases from academic disciplines such as sociology, medicine, religion, and women's/gender studies. Think about who else might be studying your topic, and then choose a database that contains scholarship from that discipline. A few suggestions are below; you can find the full list of Brandeis's 400+ databases, grouped by subject/discipline, at Databases A-Z.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Wide variety of scholarly literature, newspapers, magazines, and more covering topics from a wide variety of disciplines. A great place to start searching for sources on your subject!
America: History & Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database of articles on the history and culture of the parts of North America that make up the present-day US and Canada.
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
If your anthropology research topic has an aspect of religion, you will definitely want to see what sources you can turn up in ATLA, a top database for religious studies.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to western-language periodical articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, and anthologies pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers sources published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
Cairn - Bouquet Humanities & Social Sciences This link opens in a new window
Full-text French-language journals in academic disciplines such as arts, economics, education, geography, history, literature and linguistics, philosophy, political science, psychology, public health, and sociology.
Cairn International Edition This link opens in a new window
Contains English translations of abstracts and selected articles from key French-language journals in disciplines such as economics, education, geography, history, literature and linguistics, philosophy, politics, psychology, and sociology.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index | UCLA This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles about Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US, published from 1967-present. Search in Spanish, English or Portuguese. Use the "Get It!" button to get full text from Brandeis Library. Now includes open access articles from SciELO-México!
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles and other scholarship in the field of history (excluding the history of the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward.
Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) This link opens in a new window
The I-Portal: Indigenous Studies Portal was launched in 2006 at the University of Saskatchewan as a tool for faculty, students, researchers, and members of the community to access digital Indigenous studies resources. Its primary focus is on Indigenous peoples of Canada with a secondary focus on Indigenous peoples of the United States, Australia, Aotearoa – New Zealand, and other areas of the world.
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and other materials on lesbian, bisexual, gay, and trans (LGBT) topics. Database includes a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, books, and other materials related to linguistics and the study of language. Topic coverage includes phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database for biomedical and health journals, curated by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Entries from thousands of journals that have been approved by the advisory committee as high quality, with coverage back to 1966.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Excellent collection of hundreds of scholarly humanities and social sciences journals. All articles are available in full text.
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection searches across multiple social sciences databases, including IBSS, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search journals of sociology and related disciplines. Be sure use the index of "Subject Terms" to stretch the search capabilities of this database to their fullest extent!
Women's Studies International (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, newspapers, books, and other materials on topics related to womens studies, gender studies, and feminist research. Coverage: 1972 - present.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals in political science and its complementary fields, such as international relations, law, and public administration policy. 1975 to present.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Uses Google's powerful search to find scholarly literature. This link to Google Scholar authenticates you as a Brandeis user and provides the Brandeis Get It button next to many of your search results, allowing you to more easily find the full text of the articles.

Use the "Cited by" link that appears under a search result in Google Scholar to find articles and books that have cited the source in the result. This is a great way to get a sense of the conversation happening among scholars on your topic!

Connect Google Scholar to Brandeis Library

Set up "Library Links" in Google Scholar to connect to full text of articles through Brandeis Library.

1. Go to Google Scholar and click on "Settings" in the menu bar.

2. Click on "Library Links."

3. Type "Brandeis" into the search bar.

4. Select "Brandeis University - GetIt @ Brandeis!"

5. Click "Save."