Research Guides: Today's News: Historical News

HistoryMakers

HistoryMakers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
An African American video oral history archive. Provides access to oral history interviews with historically significant African Americans.

News Video Archives

Archives of historical and recent broadcast television news and other news video.

American Archive of Public Broadcasting
Archive of programming from over 100 public radio and television stations. Includes online access to some digitized materials.
1940s - 2010s
Associated Press Archive
Collection offers 1.7 million global news and entertainment stories.
1895 - Present
British Movieton
Associated Press' sister organization. News Stories 1895-1986

Ancestry

Ancestry Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of 1790-1950 US census records, UK and Ireland census collection, immigration collection, military records, and birth, marriage and death records. An excellent resource for research in genealogy.

Archived News Sources

Databases that provide access to major newspapers' archives from the 20th century. You will find archived newspapers from the 19th century and earlier in the News & Media section of our Databases A - Z list.

Boston Globe Historical Archive
Searchable full-text and full-image issues of the Boston Globe (1872-1988)
Chicago Tribune
Coverage: 1849 - 1996
Los Angeles Times
Coverage: 1881 - 1995
The New York Times
Coverage: 1851 - 2014
Wall Street Journal
Coverage: 1889 - 2002
Washington Post
Coverage: 1877 - 2002

ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search across the New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), the Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Michigan Chronicle‎ (1936 - 2010), and the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988). Please note that Brandeis Library also has access to the Chicago Defender newspaper which can be searched separately
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes the American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922), American Israelite (1854-2000), Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945), Atlanta Daily World‎ (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Baltimore Sun‎ (1837-1998), Boston Globe (1872-1993), Chicago Tribune (1849-1999), Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953), Cleveland Call and Post‎ (1934-2010), Communist Historical Newspaper Collection‎ (1919-2013), Jerusalem Post (1932-2008), Jewish Advocate (1905-1990), Jewish Exponent (1887-1990), Korea Times‎ (1956-2016), Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals (1845-2015), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Los Angeles Times (1881-2000), Michigan Chronicle‎ (1939-2010), Minneapolis Star Tribune‎ (1867-2001), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), New York Times (1851-2020), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), St. Petersburg Times/Tampa Bay Times (1901-2009), Times of India (1838-2011), Wall Street Journal (1889-2012), and Washington Post (1877-2007)

International News Sources

Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) This link opens in a new window
Includes the following English-language Chinese historical newspapers: North China Herald (1850-1941); Canton Times (1919-1920); China Critic (1939-1946); The China Press (1925-1938); China Weekly Review (1917-1953); Chinese Recorder (1868-1940); Chinese Repository (1832-1851); Peking Daily News (1914-1917); Peking Gazette (1915-1917); Peking Leader (1918-1919); Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921); Shanghai Times (1914-1921)
East African Newspapers (1943 - 2003 This link opens in a new window
Historical news content from the early 1940s to early 2000s, a period of independence movements and political uprisings in the region. Currently includes: Daily Nation (Kenya, independent), Ethiopian Herald (government-owned, English-language), and The Monitor (Uganda, independent).
Middle Eastern and North African (MENA) Newspapers (1870-1972) This link opens in a new window
Historical news content providing unique insights into the history of individual countries, as well as broad viewpoints on key historical events from the late 19th Century to the present. Content is predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French.
Southeast Asian Newspapers (1864-1922) This link opens in a new window
Newspaper collection covering several countries from the region, including Myanmar (formerly Burma), Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam, and featuring multiple languages such as Dutch, English, French, Javanese, Spanish, and Vietnamese. Provides coverage and perspectives on regional and global events of the late 19th and 20th centuries, including the monumental changes that took place throughout the region during the pre- and post-WWII era, and the challenges of early statehood.
African Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Collection of African newspapers from the 19th and early 20th centuries. Features English and foreign-language titles. This collection includes African newspapers from both the World Newspaper Archive and the British Library Collection.
World Newspaper Archive: Latin American Newspapers (1805-1922) This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical Latin American newspapers, 1805-1922. Titles in Spanish, English, and Portuguese.