Skip to Main Content
“Brandeis

Archival Resources of Brandeis University

This guide will help you discover the University's archival resources and how to use them. From primary sources to Brandeis publications to digitized materials, your archival research starts here.

Contact Me!

Profile Photo
Chloe Morse-Harding
Contact:
Chloe Gerson, Reference and Instruction Archivist
Robert D. Farber University Archives & Special Collections, Goldfarb Library
Brandeis University
415 South St.
Waltham, MA 02453

cmorseharding@brandeis.edu
781-736-4657
Website

The Justice online

Where to find The Justice online depends on the date you need and how you want to use it:

March 1949- May 2004: For the longest range of dates available see The Justice on the Internet Archive

Please note that in order to use keyword searching function, make sure you use the "search inside" function instead of the general search once you have opened an individual issue reel.  To access the "search inside" function, click on the magnifying glass icon on the left hand side of each issue reel.  If your keyword is in the issues, hits will appear on the bar below the newspaper.  Sometimes the Internet Archive is undergoing maintenance and the search function is disabled; you can still browse the issues much the same way you would read an actual newspaper by flipping page by page. Each digitized “reel” of film comprises a range of dates, usually one to three years.  To see the date range, click on each individual newspaper icon; in the metadata section underneath the paper, the "volume" section will give you the date range covered.

March 1949- May 1970: For easy access to a searchable version see The Justice in Brandeis Distinctive Collections

Each issue here is a separate PDF. You will need Adobe Acrobat to view it.  Once you click on an issue, it may automatically download before you can read it. In order to run a keyword search for each issue, use Control-F to enable searching capabilities. 

2001-present: For online archives to the text of articles see the archives of The Justice Newspaper

The quick search function is fast for finding keywords, and the result is web text.  There is also an option to view various entire issues on this website as well!

 

You can also find the physical Office Files of The Justice in Archives & Special Collections (Level 2 of the library)!