Research Guides: FA42B: The Age of Cathedrals: Finding images

Lisa Zeidenberg

she/her/hers

Contact:

lzeidenb@brandeis.edu

781-736-4697

Subjects: Art, Architecture and Photography, Classical and Early Mediterranean Studies, Film Studies, Music, Theater and Dance

Art reproductions

Grove Art Online (Part of Oxford Art Online)
Provides the most organized and direct path to a huge number of image links. Here's how to find the images after clicking on Grove Art:

Enter cathedral name into search box -- click go.
Select article on cathedral from the results list.
After article appears, click on the "Images" tab in the upper left.

Note: when clicked, the links connect directly with the museum or image site in a new window.

Art Resource
Commercial site, but database is freely available for searching. Enter "cathedral" into keyword search box in Advanced Search mode, then choose your cathedral from the list provided.
Google Arts and Culture
"Features content from over 1000 leading museums and archives who have partnered with the Google Cultural Institute to bring the world's treasures online."
Google Advanced Image Search
If you want to go fishing on the Web for an image rather than using the Web sites noted above, this is about the best way to do it.

Image-rich architecture websites

GreatBuildings
"Gateway to architecture around the world & across history documents 1000 buildings and hundreds of leading architects with photographic images & architectural drawings, integrated maps & timelines, 3D building models, commentaries, [&] bibliographies."
more...less...
From Library Internet Index: "Find construction dates, locations, building types, photos, and more. Also browse timelines, building types, climate, locales, architectural styles, contexts, and building elements. Searchable."
World Images: Art & Architecture Portfolio
Searchable, browseable access to the California State University IMAGE project. Click "more" for more information.
more...less...
"The internationally recognized WorldImages database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains over 65,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery. WorldImages is accessible anywhere and its images may be freely used for non-profit educational purposes. The images can be located using many search techniques, and for convenience they are organized into over 650 portfolios which are then organized into subject groupings."
RIBApix
From the Royal Institute of British Architects. "Encompasses photographs, drawings & engravings, covers world architecture of all periods together with related subjects such as design, landscape, topography, planning, construction & the decorative arts."
more...less...
"RIBApix is the online image database of the RIBA British Architectural Library, the world's most extensive visual archive devoted to architecture."

ARTstor

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Image database featuring images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists; the most comprehensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else.

Guide to using Artstor at Brandeis

See also the image-rich websites on the Websites tab of this guide.

Print resource

World Architecture Index by Edward H. Teague (Compiled by)
Call Number: Creative Arts Reference NA202 .T4 1991
A guide for finding images of architectural works reproduced in more than 100 English-language books and encyclopedias. International scope covers most historical periods and styles. Provides citations to reproductions of exterior and interior views, plans, sections, and elevations. The four indexes include site, architect, type of work, and names of works.