Research Guides: *World History: Articles & Databases

Search Tips

Start by brainstorming keywords and search terms. Use subject headings or descriptors to help generate search terms.

When you find a good article, look at its References or Works Cited list. That will often lead you to other useful sources.

If you see an article you'd like to read but you don't see the full text, click on the "GET IT" button. This will open a new window that will allow you to see if Brandeis has access to the article through another database or in print. If we don't have the article online or in print, you'll see an option to request the article through Interlibrary Loan.

Recommended Databases

For a broad search, start with the Articles & More tab of the Library's OneSearch. This searches across many of our subscription academic databases to find individual articles from journals, newspapers, magazines, and more. For a more focused search, try one of these recommended databases:*

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Collection of journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, and other types of sources covering issues in the public debate. Provides a historical perspective on many of the 20th century's social and public policies such as Prohibition, the civil rights movement, McCarthyism, Vietnam and Watergate.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search all JSTOR journal collections at once or any of the journal collections listed above individually. All articles are in full text. You can use Advanced Search to limit your search to History or American Studies.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Wide variety of scholarly literature, newspapers, magazines, and more covering topics from a wide variety of disciplines. A great place to start searching for sources on your subject!
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Excellent collection of hundreds of scholarly humanities and social sciences journals. All articles are available in full text.
Annee Philologique This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of scholarly works, from 1928 to the present, relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. It covers a wide array of subjects, including Greek and Latin literature and linguistics—which includes early Christian texts and patristics—Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920- (ABELL) This link opens in a new window
Ccontains records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.

Hebrew Journals
An interdisciplinary range of titles published primarily in Hebrew. Top disciplines include Jewish Studies, Language & Literature, and Archaeology, with journals drawn from leading organizations such as the Bialik Institute, the World Union of Jewish Studies, and the Israel Antiquities Authority.
more...less...
In order to save, email, or export citations, you must register for a free MyJSTOR account on the JSTOR website.

Iter Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for dissertation abstracts, and essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).
Iter Italicum This link opens in a new window
Online edition of Paul Oskar Kristeller's Iter Italicum, the most comprehensive finding list available of previously uncatalogued or incompletely catalogued Renaissance humanistic manuscripts found in libraries and collections all over the world. Originally published in six volumes between 1963 and 1992, it is an essential tool for any scholar working in the fields of classical, medieval and Renaissance studies.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles and reviews on the Middle Ages and Renaissance from over 1,114 journals, and provides other scholarly resources, 1843 to present.
World History In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Contains over primary sources, as well as full-text articles from over 100+ journals.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides nearly 900,000 citations to western-language periodical articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, Festschriften, etc. pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

*The databases in this list were selected as starting points. To access the complete selection of databases at Brandeis, visit our library database list.

Interlibrary Loan

Need to place an interlibrary loan (ILL) request for an article?