HIS/HSSP 142A: Health Activism

Digitized primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. Find a wide range of materials, such as: oral histories from the African Women's Life History Project; declassified FBI files detailing surveillance of gays and lesbians in the U.S. from 1950 to 1982; and erotica from the "Private Case" of the British Museum Library.

Includes records of major civil rights organizations and personal papers of leaders and observers of the 20th century Black freedom struggle, as well as federal government records. Includes the records of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs, the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), and the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE). 

This database includes "Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century" and "NAACP Papers."

An online collection with a comprehensive and international set of resources to enrich study in a wide range of disciplines from media studies to philosophy. 
Database available through at least May 31, 2028, as part of ProQuest's Evidence-Based Acquisition Program.

An African American video oral history archive. Provides access to oral history interviews with historically significant African Americans.

Find primary and secondary sources on major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010.

Documents the rise of the twentieth-century public health system in the United States through correspondence, reports, pamphlets, ephemera, and more.

Includes diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, newspapers, press, underground press, alternative publications, and scholarly commentary. This collection includes materials digitized from collections in Brandeis University Archives & Special Collections, including materials on student activism and radical politics.

Focuses on women’s activism across the world, from 1840 to the present. Includes primary sources on topics related to peace, human trafficking, poverty, child labor, literacy, global inequality, and more. 
Database available through at least May 31, 2028, as part of ProQuest's Evidence-Based Acquisition Program.

Explores prominent themes related to conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices. This archival database includes documents related to the Habsburg, Ottoman, British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States empires, and to settler societies in the United States and South Africa. 
Database available through at least May 31, 2028, as part of ProQuest's Evidence-Based Acquisition Program.

A collection of document projects--comprised of essays with supporting documents, images, and web links--focused on the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000