Research Guides: HIS/HSSP 142A: Health Activism: News Coverage (recent and historical)

News Coverage

The resources listed below provide access to recent news coverage. For historical news coverage, please view the resources in the next box.

International Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes newspapers and newswires from Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Covers 1980-present.
New York Times Digital Edition This link opens in a new window
Free access to The New York Times website. The Library's academic site license include access through mobile apps. More information and directions for setting up and renewing your academic account.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text news, business, industry and legal information from major newspapers and magazines.

Historical Newspapers and Magazines

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Includes the American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922), American Israelite (1854-2000), Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945), Atlanta Daily World‎ (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Baltimore Sun‎ (1837-1998), Boston Globe (1872-1993), Chicago Tribune (1849-1999), Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953), Cleveland Call and Post‎ (1934-2010), Communist Historical Newspaper Collection‎ (1919-2013), Jerusalem Post (1932-2008), Jewish Advocate (1905-1990), Jewish Exponent (1887-1990), Korea Times‎ (1956-2016), Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals (1845-2015), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Los Angeles Times (1881-2000), Michigan Chronicle‎ (1939-2010), Minneapolis Star Tribune‎ (1867-2001), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), New York Times (1851-2020), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010), St. Louis Post-Dispatch (1874-2003), St. Petersburg Times/Tampa Bay Times (1901-2009), Times of India (1838-2011), Wall Street Journal (1889-2012), and Washington Post (1877-2007)
News, Policy and Politics Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Alongside leading US publications such as Newsweek and In These Times are magazines that are published outside of North America and/or are engaged with international affairs, such as Europe, New Internationalist, and NATO Review. Coverage: 1918 - 2015.

In researching health activism, consider which newspapers and magazines would have covered the experiences of individuals who were not represented in many of the national newspapers. The resources listed below provide access to publications which covered voices which were underrepresented in the media:

ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Search across the New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), the Norfolk Journal and Guide (1921-2003), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991), Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Michigan Chronicle‎ (1936 - 2010), and the Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988). Please note that Brandeis Library also has access to the Chicago Defender newspaper which can be searched separately
World Newspaper Archive: Latin American Newspapers (1805-1922) This link opens in a new window
Collection of historical Latin American newspapers, 1805-1922. Titles in Spanish, English, and Portuguese.
Women's Magazine Archive‎ (1846 - 2005) This link opens in a new window
Includes the backfiles of leading women's interest consumer magazines, covering the late 19th century through to 2005.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals from American ethnic and native communities, covering 1960 to the present.

The Crisis (1910-1960)
Founded by W.E.B. Du Bois as the NAACP's official publication
Washington Afro-American, 1938-1980 (with gaps)
A prominent African American newspaper serving Washignton, DC.
Jet Magazine, 1951-2008
Covers the civil rights movement, politics, education, and other social topics with an African-American focus. It includes over 3,000 issues providing a broad view of news, culture, and entertainment from its first issue in 1951 through 2014.
Ebony (1959-2008)
A number of issues from this seminal black magazine are freely available through Google Books.
Negro Digest/Black World, 1961-1976
Magazine which served as important source for individuals involved in the civil rights movement. Negro Digest was founded 1943 and later changed its name to Black World. Issues published between 1961-1976 are freely available through Google Books.