Research Guides: HIS/HSSP 142A: Health Activism: Government Information and Grey Literature

US Government Sources

Selected sources from the United States government.

ProQuest Congressional
Access to congressional publications, hearings, debates, committee prints, CRS reports, legislative histories, bills, current laws, and regulations. 1824 - 2003. UNet Login required.

United States Congress (formerly THOMAS.gov)
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public
Centers of Disease Control (CDC) Publications
Search CDC journals such as Morbidity and Mortality Weekly, and Emerging Infectious Diseases. Search by topic.

Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law (HeinOnline)
Includes an expansive archive of treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence related to Native American Law.
Policy File Index (ProQuest)
Offers access to U.S. foreign and domestic policy papers and gray literature. Updated weekly with abstracts and links to reports, papers, and documents from think tanks, research institutes, and agencies.

Congressional Research Service (CRS)

The Congressional Research Service, a division of the Library of Congress, provides policy and legal analysis to representatives and senators in Congress. CRS reports are renown for authoritative, objective, and non-partisan research but are not directly released to the public. CRS reports are available in several online collections including:

University of North Texas CRSR Collection
UNT digital collection of CRS Reports boasts a robust number of entries on various topics and is updated constantly.
Federation of American Scientists
FAS was founded in 1945 by many of the Manhattan Project scientists who wanted to prevent nuclear war. Updated monthly.

Foundations, Institutes, and Non-Profits

The Fenway Institute
The mission of The Fenway Institute is to optimize health and well-being for sexual and gender minorities (SGM) and those affected by HIV. Online research available covering LGBTQIA+ health policy, health education, and aging
Kaiser Family Foundation
The Kaiser Family Foundation brings together policy research, polling, and journalism and aims to be a bias free source for healthcare information
Massachusetts Public Health Assocation
This organization uses policy building, community building, and social change to address foundational building blocks of good health such as reliable public transportation, stable housing, nutritious food, clean air, safe drinking water, and strong public health protections.
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Nonprofit philanthropic organization that aims to dismantle barriers to healthcare through funding, advocacy, and evidence-building