Research Guides: JOUR-109B: Reinventing Journalism: News Sources and Citation Guides

Journalism Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

781-736-4673

Subjects: American Studies, Health Policy, Heller School for Social Policy and Management, International & Global Studies, Journalism, Legal Studies, Politics, Public Policy

AP Style Guide

Associated Press Style Guide
Grammar and usage guide created by American journalists that establish rules about writing. Includes acronym use, punctuation guide, and more.

Citing Generative AI Use

Citing Generative AI
Brandeis Library's guidance on how, when and why to cite generative AI use, such as ChatGPT.

Current Newspapers

We use library databases to access newspapers instead of going directly to the newspaper's website (except the WSJ and the NYT). These databases allow you to search multiple news sources simultaneously, provide better search results, stable links, and access to archived content.

Reading Today's Paper

Boston Globe
This link defaults to the latest available issue (today's). You can then scroll down the list for stories, or search within the issue for a specific topic.
Los Angeles Times
LA Times December 1996 - Present
New York Times
Brandeis students, staff, and faculty have free access to the New York Times via web and mobile app. Click this link and follow the instructions to sign up.
Wall Street Journal
Brandeis students, staff, and faculty have free access to the Wall Street Journal via web and mobile app. Click this link and follow the instructions to sign up.
Washington Post
This link defaults to the latest available issue (today's). You can then scroll down the list for stories, or search within the issue for a specific topic.

Search Multiple Publications

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers, magazines, and journals from American ethnic and native communities, covering 1960 to the present.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text news, business, industry and legal information from major newspapers and magazines.
U.S. Hispanic Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
U.S. Hispanic Newsstream offers access to the largest collection of leading Hispanic newspapers, news wires, websites and blogs in full text from U.S. publishers in both Spanish and English including El Diario/La Prensa (New York City), La Opinión (Los Angeles), La Prensa (San Antonio) and El Mundo (Cambridge, Mass.).
U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Features newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites from across the U.S., from the 1980s to present.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside This link opens in a new window
American Prison Newspapers will bring together hundreds of these periodicals from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions. Development of the collection began in July 2020 and will continue through 2021, with new content added regularly.

Archived News Sources

Databases that provide access to major newspapers' archives, many go back to the 19th century or earlier. You will find all our news databases in the News & Media section of our Databases A - Z list.

American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection This link opens in a new window
With content from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS), this database includes American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. Covers advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
See Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Boston Globe (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Full-text, full-image, digitized issues of the Boston Globe, 1872-1997.