Skip to Main Content

FA 199A: Methods and Approaches in the History of Art

Course guide developed for Professor Jonathan Unglaub by Lisa Zeidenberg, Creative Arts Librarian. Originally created by Darwin Scott.

Selected print books on Japanese American artists

The shores of a dream: Yasuo Kuniyoshi's early work in America by Jane E. Myers; Tom Wolf
Call Number: Main Library Stacks N6537.K83 M94 1996
Chiura Obata: an American modern by Shipu Wang (Editor)
Call Number: Main Library Stacks N6537.O22 A4 2018
The other American moderns: Matsura, Ishigaki, Noda, Hayakawa by ShiPu Wang
Call Number: Main Library Stacks N6538.J32 W36 2017
Isamu Noguchi's modernism: negotiating race, labor, and nation, 1930-1950 by Amy Lyford
Call Number: Main Library Stacks NB237.N6 L94 2013
Isamu Noguchi: a study of space by Ana Maria Torres; Shoji Sadao (Foreword by)
Call Number: Main Library Stacks NB237.N6 T66 2000
The hope of another spring: Takuichi Fujii, artist and wartime witness by Barbara Johns; Roger Daniels (Foreword by); Sandy Kita (Introduction by)
Call Number: Main Library Stacks ND237.F785 H67 2017
Signs of home: the paintings and wartime diary of Kamekichi Tokita by Barbara Johns; Stephen H. Sumida (Foreword by)
Call Number: Main Library Stacks ND237.T5755 J64 2011
Miné Okubo: following her own road by Greg Robinson (Editor); Elena Tajima Creef (Editor)
Call Number: Main Library Stacks N6537.O395 M56 2008

Selected print books on Asian American art

An ocean apart: contemporary Vietnamese art from the United States and Vietnam by Lois Tarlow
Call Number: Main Library Stacks N6538.V54 H36 1995
Asian traditions/modern expressions: Asian American artists and abstraction, 1945-1970 by Jeffrey Wechsler
Call Number: Main Library Stacks N6538.A83 A84 1997
Fresh talk, daring gazes: conversations on Asian American art by Elaine H. Kim, ed.
Call Number: Main Library Stacks N6538.A83 K56 2003

Selected print books on Asian American artists

They painted from their hearts: pioneer Asian American artists by Mayumi Tsutakawa (Editor)
Call Number: Main Library Stacks N6528 .T54 1994
Leading the way: Asian American artists of the older generation by Irene Poon
Call Number: Main Library Stacks N6538.A83 P66 2001
Experiences of passage: the paintings of Yun Gee & Li-Lan by Joyce Brodsky
Call Number: Main Library Stacks ND1049.G43 B76 2008
Yun Gee: poetry, writings, art, memories by Anthony W. Lee (Editor)
Call Number: Main Library Stacks ND1049.G43 Y98 2003

Japanese American art: e-book

From confinement to containment: Japanese/American arts during the early Cold War by Edward Tang
Publication Date: 2019-02-19

Digital archive

Art Asia America
"A digital archive of Asian/Asian American contemporary art history"

Museum collections featuring Asian Diaspora/Asian American art

Virtual Asian American Art Museum
"[Brings] together curators and art scholars with art and archives collections from individual collections and institutions around the world to invite you to experience Asian American art."
The Art of Asia's Diasporas and the Asian-American Experience (Princeton University Art Museum)
Asian Art Museum (San Francisco): Browse Collection

Online magazines

ArtAsiaPacific
Blog & magazine focused on contemporary art and culture from Asia, the Pacific, and the Middle East
ARTIndia
Digital magazine highlights the arts in India
Asia Art Archive
"Catalyst for new ideas that enrich our understanding of the world through the collection, creation, and sharing of knowledge around recent art in Asia."

Last Updated: Sep 17, 2025 2:09 PM
URL: https://guides.library.brandeis.edu/artmethods
Print Page

Subjects: Art, Architecture and Photography