Skip to main content

E-Resources Help

Having trouble accessing an e-journal or database?

Accessing a database late at night?

Please note: Our e-resource providers commonly run their maintenance windows overnight so a resource may be temporarily unavailable.

If you are unable to access a resource please wait a few minutes and try again. If the resource is persistently unavailable, please report it to us or email e-resources@brandeis.edu

Specific databases

 

ARTstor

For further help with ARTstor, please see the Guide to Using ARTstor at Brandeis.

 

EBSCOhost (Academic Search Premier, Business Source Ultimate, etc.)

Why can't I get the full text of an article?
EBSCOhost frequently includes a combination of index-only and full text coverage for the same publication, and it sometimes does not include full text for the latest issues due to publisher restrictions. To determine what years of a publication have full text available, in EBSCOhost, look for the line which reads "Full Text.” Note that these dates may differ from the years listed under "All Issues", which include both index-only and full text coverage.

 

Ebooks on SocINDEX with Full Text and other EBSCOhost databases

How do I access an ebook on SocINDEX with Full Text and other EBSCOhost databases?

In EBSCOhost, on the right side of the screen, you will see 'All Issues' with a year below that. Click on the year and this will open up another link to the year.

All Issues drop down with year

Click on the second link to the year and you will be taken to the chapters in the book where you can click through each chapter to view the PDF.

 

Gale

Why can’t I get the full text of an article?

Gale frequently includes a combination of index-only and full text coverage for the same publication, and it sometimes does not include full text for the latest issues due to publisher restrictions. 

If the volume and year of the article you are looking for is not included in our subscription, you may submit an ILL request for the article.

 

JSTOR

I am having problems loading or printing PDFs of articles from JSTOR.

Please see the Trouble viewing PDFs page for troubleshooting tips. Common PDF loading/viewing problems can be solved by upgrading your PDF reader to the latest version

Firefox users: If you click on a PDF link in JSTOR and get an error message that says that the file is damaged, there may be a problem with the Adobe Firefox plug-in in your browser. Follow the instructions below for a workaround:

  1. Open up the Firefox browser
  2. If using a PC: Go to the Tools menu, select Options, choose Applications
    If using a Mac: Go to Firefox->Preferences->Applications
  3. Find content type Adobe Acrobat Forms Document or Portable Document Format (PDF), and under Action, choose Use Adobe Reader (default)
  4. Click OK

 

ProQuest

If you are prompted to login to ProQuest database click on the ProQuest Cookie Cutter to clear out your browser cookies.

For problems viewing PDFs, please see the Trouble viewing PDFs page for help.

 

Naxos Music Library

I am getting an error message when I try to access Naxos.

Our subscription to Naxos allows for 10 simultaneous users only. When you are finished using the database, you must logout using the red LOG OUT button at the upper right corner of the screen and close your browser before trying to open a new session of Naxos. If you try to open another session of Naxos before closing your browser, you will get an error message. If this happens, close the web browser and then reopen Naxos, or clear the cache and delete the cookies in your browser and reload the page.

Naxos had logged me out and is asking me for a username and password.

Naxos has an automatic 30 minute logout. Before the 30 minute point, a window should appear on your computer asking you if you want to extend the session. The logout feature is necessary since our subscription only allows for 10 simultaneous users. If you extend your session, you can continue to listen to music.

If Naxos asks you for a password or logs you out and you want to continue using this database click the red LOG OUT button and close your browser. Then click on the resource again from any of our resource pages and start over.

New York Times Digital Edition

See our New York Times Digital Edition guide for more information.

 

Journals@Ovid

I was using an e-journal through Ovid and closed the browser without logging out. I went back in to try to access the journal again, but got a message that says that the Ovid license limit has been exceeded.

Our license for Ovid allows for two concurrent users only and users must log out by clicking "Log out" in the upper right corner of the screen when they are finished using the database. Please clear the cache and cookies on your browser and close and reopen the browser, and try accessing the journal again. If this doesn’t work, wait and try again in a little while.

 

SciFinder

 

Slow Structure Editor?

The SciFinder Web structure/reaction editor can be slow (at least a minute) to load in your browser, especially the first time you open it during that session. You may be prompted to accept a certificate or ActiveX plug-in. Internet Explorer 6 is not recommended due to lack of support for newer Web standards. Users of Internet Explorer 6 will experience performance issues with the Web version of SciFinder. Read more about web browser requirements.

 

PubMed

PubMed

As of September 30, 2016, PubMed has switched to https. The URL to access PubMed through Brandeis is 

http://resources.library.brandeis.edu/login?url=https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?otool=mabrandlib

We have updated the links to PubMed in our systems. If you have saved any bookmarks for PubMed, you should update your bookmarks to go to the updated URL, as old links may no longer work.

Note: When attempting to email a citation to yourself in PubMed, you may encounter a reCAPTCHA problem. A workaround is to sign into your My NCBI account. Once you are signed into your My NCBI account, you will not be prompted for reCAPTCHA when emailing a citation. If you do not have a My NCBI account, you can register for a free account on the PubMed site by clicking "Sign in to NCBI" at the top of the page and then "Register for an NCBI account."

ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly ebrary)

ProQuest Ebook Central facilitates research and document exploration. Use the powerful search capabilities to gradually narrow your focus by specifying subjects, keywords, authors, publishers, publication years, or other information available for the documents. To learn more about ProQuest Ebook Central's features, please see the ProQuest Ebook Central guide.

At any time, you can explore the search results.

  • View the document's table of contents, and see a ranking based on the relevance of your search term(s) in each chapter.
  • Search the document for additional terms.
  • Copy text and print pages.
  • Save citations to EndNote.
  • If you sign in, you can highlight text, add notes, and organize information on your personal bookshelf into folders and email your notes to yourself or to a classmate or colleague.
  • Ability to download books to your laptop, tablet, or phone (iOS and Android) for offline reading.
  • Compatibility with screen readers and other assistive technology for patrons with special accessiblity needs.

ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly ebrary) downloading ebooks

ProQuest Ebook Central offers download options for offline access to Ebook Central content.

There are two ways to download content:

Option 1 - Download chapter or pages as PDF

  • Same page limits as for printing (Maximum 60 pages)
  • Accessible on most computers and devices, including the Kindle
  • Additional free software is typically not needed
  • Files do not expire

Option 2 - Download entire document as an e-book

  • Download up to 10 documents at a time per user
  • Users first need to install Adobe Digital Editions (free online)
  • Accessible on most computers and devices, including Kindle Fire, but not other Kindle devices at this time
  • Check-out period for downloaded e-book is 14 days.

ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly ebrary) downloads FAQ

See the ProQuest Ebook Central Guide for more help with ProQuest Ebook Central downloads.

How do I download a chapter or pages from a ProQuest Ebook Central document?

To create a PDF of a specific chapter:

1. Click on Download button in ProQuest Ebook Central search results list. You will be prompted to login to Ebook Central if you are not already logged in. 

2. Select the option to Print pages to PDF. You will be taken to the book. Navigate to the chapter you want. Select the icon for Print to PDF at the top of the screen and select chapter. Click Continue. The PDF will be created.

3. Click Open to open the PDF. (Note: If the chapter is longer than the number of pages allowed to be printed on Ebook Central, you will get an error message.) You can then save the PDF to your computer.

To create PDF of a specific page range:

1. Click on Download button in ProQuest Ebook Central search results list. You may be prompted to sign in to your Ebook Central account.

2. Select the option to Print pages to PDF. You will be taken to the book. Enter the starting and ending ebook page numbers in the boxes. Click Continue. The PDF will be created.

3. Click Open to open the PDF . (Note: If the page range is longer than the number of pages allowed to be printed on ProQuest Ebook Central, you will get an error message.) You can then save the PDF to your computer.

PDFs that you create of chapters or pages do not expire and can be read offline using any standard PDF viewer, such as Adobe Reader. You can transfer the file to a mobile device or e-reader, including the Amazon Kindle.

How do I download an entire ebook?

1. Go to ProQuest Ebook Central. Sign into Ebook Central.

2. Find the book you want to download.

3. Click the Download button in the ProQuest Ebook Central search results list or from within QuickView.

4. Select the option to Download the entire document.

5. Click OK.

6. A dialog box shows the number of days the ebook will be accessible. Click Download.

7. If you haven't already, you'll be prompted to install Adobe Digital Editions.

8. Once Adobe Digital Editions is installed, choose either Open with Adobe Digital Editions or Save file to open later.

9. You'll be prompted to sign in to your Adobe account. If you don't already have one, click the button to create one.

10. Click OK.

You will be able to read and annotate the ebook offline and transfer it to your supported devices. You can have 10 downloaded ebooks at a time. Downloaded ebooks are accessible for 14 days, but can be returned early. 

How long can I keep a downloaded ebook?

A downloaded ProQuest Ebook Central document is accessible for 14 days. After 14 days, the file automatically expires. The file will remain on your computer or device but will become unreadable.

How many ebooks can I download at one time?

You can have 10 ProQuest Ebook Central ebooks downloaded at a time.

Can I return a downloaded ebook early? How do I return an ebook?

Yes, you can return a downloaded ebook early. Early returns of downloaded ebooks are done through Adobe Digital Editions. Returns may take a few minutes to be recognized on ProQuest Ebook Central.

To return an ebook early:

  1. In Adobe Digital Editions, click on the arrow icon on the title you wish to return early. 
  2. Select Return Borrowed Item.
  3. Click Ok
  4. You may also wish to Delete Item by clicking on the same arrow.  
Adobe Digital Editions Return Borrowed Item

Why can I download some ebooks but not others?

There are a number of reasons you may not be able to download an ebook:

  • You have reached the maximum number of entire-document downloads allowed per user (10). In order to check out another ebook, you would first need to return one.
  • The ebook you are trying to download may be from one of the publishers that do not allow full-document downloads. 

Does downloading an entire ebook (via Adobe Digital Editions) block other users' access to it?

Downloading a multi-user ProQuest Ebook Central ebook does not block other users' access to the document. Other users on the ProQuest Ebook Central site will still be able to read the ebook online and download it.

What is Adobe Digital Editions? 

Adobe Digital Editions is a free software program that is required to download entire ebooks from ProQuest Ebook Central.

Adobe Digital Editions also offers user tools for your downloaded ebook, such as:

  • Transfer ebooks to other devices, including iPhone, iPad, Kobo, Nook, Sony Reader, or others (but not a Kindle)
  • Organize and navigate your library of ebooks
  • Return an ebook early
  • Search text within an ebook
  • Annotate and highlight an ebook (won't be synced with ProQuest Ebook Central bookshelf)
  • Create bookmarks into an ebook
  • Print up to 10% of an ebook

Visit Adobe Digital Editions' help page to learn how to use these features.

Installing Adobe Digital Editions and Creating an Adobe account

If this is your first time downloading a document via Adobe Digital Editions, you can set up your Adobe Digital Editions account and create an Adobe account before you start downloading from ProQuest Ebook Central.

Go here to download and install Adobe Digital Editions: http://www.adobe.com/solutions/ebook/digital-editions/download.html

To create an Adobe account:

1. On the Adobe site, click Sign In and then "Get an Adobe ID"

3. Sign up

How do I read my downloaded ebook on my e-reader or other device?

First, download the ebook to your computer. Then, follow these instructions:

1. Connect your supported device to your computer.

2. Launch Adobe Digital Editions. You may be prompted to create an Adobe ID.

3. Adobe Digital Editions automatically detects your device and may offer to authorize the device with your Adobe ID.

The device now appears as a new bookshelf in the library. Drag and drop the downloaded title(s) you wish to transfer.

How do I read my downloaded ebook on iPad or iPhone?

Once you’ve downloaded a ProQuest Ebook Central document as an e-book via Adobe Digital Edition you can transfer it to an iOS device using iTunes.

  • Download to your iPad or iPhone reading app like BlueFire Reader from the App Store. Once installed make sure that your Adobe Digital Editions and BlueFire Reader are both authorized with the same Adobe ID. You can always check the Info Screen of Bluefire Reader to authorize the reader or to see what Adobe ID you used to authorize it.

By default Adobe Digital Edition stores eBooks here:

 

 

On Mac OS:  your-home-directory/Documents/Digital Editions

On Windows: your-home-directory/Documents/My Digital Editions

Once you have located the file you can use iTunes to transfer the eBook to Bluefire Reader. 

  • Connect your iOS device to your computer
  • Open iTunes
  • You should see the device appear under Devices on the left side of iTunes. Click on it. 
  • With your device selected in the left panel, click on the Apps tab button at the top of the main iTunes window.

 

itunes select apps

  • Underneath the Synch Apps panel you should see the File Sharing panel.
  • Click on Bluefire or Bluefire Reader under Apps in the File Sharing Panel. You should then see the eBooks you have in Bluefire Reader appear in the Documents list to the right.


File Sharing Itunes
 

 

  • At the bottom of the Documents list click the  Add... button and browse to your library book in the Digital Editions default documents directory and then choose the file.
  • iTunes should then transfer the file to your device and Bluefire Reader will then automatically add this item to your Bluefire Reader Library.
  • You can then open your downloaded ebook in the BlueFire Reader.

‚Äč

ProQuest Ebook Central Bookshelf

I just logged into my ProQuest Ebook Central bookshelf and my bookshelf is empty. How can I recover the books I had saved to my bookshelf?

We recently changed authentication methods for Library e-resources, and for ProQuest Ebook Central it caused a disconnect between your account under the previous authentication method and your account with the new method. The good news is that ProQuest Ebook Central support can transfer your bookshelf from your old account to the new account. Here's how to request the transfer:

Submit a case (https://support.proquest.com/submitcase) to ProQuest Ebook Central Support with the following information:

  • Platform: Ebooks & Books
  • Product: Ebook Central
  • Category: Access
  • Enter your name in the First Name and Last Name fields
  • Library/Company: Brandeis University
  • Email Address: enter an email address that Ebook Central Support can reach you at
  • Subject: Transfer Ebook Central bookshelf
  • Description:
    • The name of the library or university whose Ebook Central site you use: Brandeis University
    • Your previous Ebook Central username (the username that you have been using to log-in to Ebook Central - you may have used your Brandeis email address)
    • Your current Ebook Central username: the username in the Ebook Central system may differ from the username you use when signing in. To see what Ebook Central is using as your username, sign in to Ebook Central and go to Settings -> Profile. Copy what you see under the "Email/Username" field. It will be a long string of numbers and letters starting with "athens_"
  • Please allow several days for the bookshelf merge since Ebook Central will need to schedule the work with the Ebooks engineering team

Log in to Proquest Ebook Central here: https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/brandeis-ebooks