Research Guides: *Environmental Studies: Articles

What is Peer Review?

Video created by NCSU Libraries (April 2014) under Creative Commons licensing:

Databases

Go to Databases A-Z for a full list of our databases for Environmental Studies and other disciplines.

Environmental Databases

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, scientific, technical, and policy information across the agricultural and environmental sciences. Includes topics such as animal sciences, climate change, conservation, environmental law and policy, natural resources, public health, renewable energy, and sustainable development. Includes the following databases: AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly, government and general-interest sources covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts.

Biology Databases

MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database for biomedical and health journals, curated by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Entries from thousands of journals that have been approved by the advisory committee as high quality, with coverage back to 1966.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
More than 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Produced by the National Library of Medicine and the NIH, includes full text of all research funded by the NIH since 2008.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Wide variety of scholarly literature, newspapers, magazines, and more covering topics from a wide variety of disciplines. A great place to start searching for sources on your subject!
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) This link opens in a new window
Contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic publications. Search across all content, limit to a single title, or choose by subject subsets.

Review Articles

A review article offers a summary and analysis of previously published literature on a given subject. Using a review article may help you narrow your research topic and inspire a wave of ideas for searching the literature. These articles feature extensive bibliographies, which may lead to important authors in your field of research.

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
These subject-specific journals publish review articles in the biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Search one at a time, all, or any combination.

Scientific and Policy Literature

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, scientific, technical, and policy information across the agricultural and environmental sciences. Includes topics such as animal sciences, climate change, conservation, environmental law and policy, natural resources, public health, renewable energy, and sustainable development. Includes the following databases: AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).

AGRIS | FAO
AGRIS is the International System for Agricultural Science and Technology, a multilingual bibliographic database that connects users directly to a rich collection of research and worldwide technical information on food and agriculture. A service of the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations.

Politics Collection This link opens in a new window
Cross-search a collection of four databases covering the international literature in political science and public administration/policy: Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (WPSA), PAIS Index, PolicyFile, and ProQuest's Politics Database.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Uses Google's powerful search to find scholarly literature. This link to Google Scholar authenticates you as a Brandeis user and provides the Brandeis Get It button next to many of your search results, allowing you to more easily find the full text of the articles.

News and Journalism

International Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes newspapers and newswires from Europe, Africa, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Covers 1980-present.
U.S. Newsstream (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Features newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites from across the U.S., from the 1980s to present.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text news, business, industry and legal information from major newspapers and magazines.

AllAfrica
Aggregates African journalism in English and French from over 130 news outlets from across the political spectrum. Includes some video and audio news reports.
Yale Environment 360
An online magazine offering opinion, analysis, reporting, and debate on global environmental issues.
Today's News | Brandeis Library Guide
Check out the Brandeis Library Guide to Today's News for links to selected publications and databases.

OneSearch This link opens in a new window
OneSearch is the Brandeis Library's main catalog and database search tool.
Library Catalog: Your first stop to connect to items that the Library owns or has immediate access to.
Brandeis and More: Your second stop if you want to broaden your search beyond Brandeis. Request materials from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan.
Course Reserves: Search for books and films that have been set aside for your courses.
Archives and Special Collections: Search for rare and unique materials (both physical and digital) held by Brandeis Library.
Brandeis ScholarWorks: Search for research and creative work created by Brandeis faculty, students, and staff.

Connect Google Scholar to Brandeis Library

1. Go to Google Scholar and click on "Settings" in the menu bar.

2. Click on "Library Links."

3. Type "Brandeis" into the search bar.

4. Select "Brandeis University - GetIt @ Brandeis!"

5. Click "Save."