Research Guides: ENVS 130A: Environmental Politics and Justice in Latin America: Home

Guide Overview

This guide includes recommended resources for Prof. Claudia Horn's course, ENVS 130A: Environmental Politics and Justice in Latin America. Additional resources will be added to this guide throughout the semester.

Get Started

Environmental Studies includes scholarship produced by researchers from a variety of disciplines. As you start your research process, it's important to think about what theoretical and methodological approaches will be needed to support your research. You may need to search in a variety of databases in order to find scholarship that addresses environmental studies topics from scientific, humanistic, and/or social science perspectives.

Find Journal Articles

The following databases are a great place to start searching for scholarly articles on the topics of environmental politics and justice in Latin America. This isn't an exhaustive list of all of the databases that you can use for your research, so please feel free to contact our librarians if you need help refining your search strategies or finding other databases to search.

Environmental Studies Databases

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, scientific, technical, and policy information across the agricultural and environmental sciences. Includes topics such as animal sciences, climate change, conservation, environmental law and policy, natural resources, public health, renewable energy, and sustainable development. Includes the following databases: AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS).
GreenFILE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly, government and general-interest sources covering the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments and what can be done at each level to minimize negative impacts.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Latin American Studies Databases

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index | UCLA This link opens in a new window
Find journal articles about Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the US, published from 1967-present. Search in Spanish, English or Portuguese. Use the “Brandeis Access” button to get full text from Brandeis Library. Now includes open access articles from SciELO-México!
PRISMA Database with HAPI Index This link opens in a new window
Provides 100+ full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Latin America and the Caribbean. Articles are in English, Spanish and Portuguese. Includes materials which are indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI). Coverage: 1966 - current

Social Science & Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Wide variety of scholarly literature, newspapers, magazines, and more covering topics from a wide variety of disciplines. A great place to start searching for sources on your subject!
EconLit (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Extensive database of economic literature from 1886-present. Produced by the American Economic Association.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of scholarly journals and ebooks spanning many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences. Often does not have the last 1-3 years of a publication. Use Advanced Search to select specific subject areas.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Search journals of sociology and related disciplines. Be sure use the index of "Subject Terms" to stretch the search capabilities of this database to their fullest extent!
Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection searches across multiple social sciences databases, including IBSS, Sociological Abstracts, and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.

Browse more databases in our library's Databases A-Z list.

Use Annotated Bibliographies to Find Sources

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Start your research with this collection of annotated bibliographies. Each provides a brief overview of a topic, followed by a list of recommended books, articles, and other sources. From Afrofuturism (Literary and Critical Theory) to the Zapatista Rebellion in Chiapas (Latin American Studies), get connected to key scholarship and primary sources to support your research.

Get Research Help

ENVS 130A students can book individual or group appointments with our ENVS librarian. Students can also make use of our library's chat and drop-in research help services.

Library Research Help
Need help with your research? Find out about all of the ways you can contact a librarian.