ArcGIS StoryMaps

Another feature available in ArcGIS StoryMaps is the ability to create collections. A StoryMaps collection is helpful if you're working on an ongoing digital project and want to release new content over time. It's also useful if you're a faculty member and want to showcase a collection of student final projects. Since the software lets you add / embed content from a variety of sources, you can create a collection of resources created using ArcGIS StoryMaps and other sites/tools (e.g., Wix, Social Explorer, etc). 
 

1. To create a new StoryMaps collection, go to the StoryMaps homepage and click Collections in the sidebar menu.
   
2. You will be redirected to your StoryMaps Collections page. Click Create New Collection to create a new StoryMaps collection.
   
3. Add a Title and Description for your collection.
4. Click Add to Collection to add new content. You can add ArcGIS content (published story maps, apps, etc.), images, videos, and PDFs. You can also embed content created on other sites.
   
    
5. Use the Design menu to further customize the look of your collection. You can change the layout, navigation, and theme for your collection.
6. Click More Options (...) then Collection Settings if you want to copy an iframe embed code for the collection; change the default language, number, and date format for your collection; etc. These settings will only apply to the overall collection and not individual story maps added to the collection.
   
7. Click Publish once you are satisfied with your collection. Note: If you want to publicly share a story maps collection, all of the content added to the collection also needs to be publicly shared.